More Spring Time Growth From the Butterfly Garden

Place:  Butterfly Garden, Webster Groves, Missouri

Date:   March 15, 2016

Last week it was all tulips from this garden: these are the other photos that weren’t tulips.

I don’t know what type of bush this is.  There are several of them on the west and south side of the garden.  Later they will have large (~4 inches) brownish, red buds that look like soft, plump pine cones, but I forget what the flower looks like.  I’ve tried photographing the large buds and the flowers in the past but I’ve never been able to get anything that I like.  I think my camera must have been on the blink each of the times I tried.  I have strange coincidences like that with my camera from time to time.  It just doesn’t always get the picture I want.  Maybe I should have it looked at.

 

Again, something else that I don’t know what it is.  I used to try to always identify the subject plants and insects in my photos.  I found that unless there is something very distinct about the subject I end up spending 30 to 45 minutes trying to ID it and never do, even using the insect web page that walks you through the ID process.  Just too much time is lost so I don’t try anymore unless, like I said, there is something very distinct that will be a major help in identification.

 

I love redbud trees and they are probably my favorite spring time subject because of the new growth leaves and twigs, and later the flower buds.  The coloring and veining of the leaves allows for interesting photos of the same leaf or cluster from different angles with different light.  At our old house we had two large redbuds with one in a spot that made it easy to photograph from all sorts of angles and positions.

 

 

I think this and the next photo are from a tulip tree but I’m not positive.  The reason I’m not sure is because the leaves don’t have the tulip shape and I thought that was the way to identify tulip trees.

 

When I was little one of our neighbors had a tulip tree and she I my mom were talking about it one day.  I was pretty young and thought they were calling it a two lip tree which seemed strange to me.  I didn’t see anything that looked like lips let alone two lips.  Remember when you are talking to little kids:  you may be speaking the same language but the words don’t always have the same meaning or connotation for them.

 

I like these daffodils so much better than the plain yellow ones but I do like it when the two are mixed in a garden.  Not two sections, one for each variety, but when the individual plants are mixed together.  I’ve only seen this one time though in someone’s side yard.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and Sigma 105mm macro lens.
14 thoughts on “More Spring Time Growth From the Butterfly Garden

  1. Super set of images as always David …. I think the first pic is a Sumac tree. It’s a beautiful and colourful tree with a lovely spreading shape, but it produces new plants via suckers so you need to be watchful if you have one…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Maverick. I did think of magnolia but that didn’t seem quite right either but I wasn’t aware the two trees were in the same family. a relative or a cross seems to make sense.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

