Chicago III

Place:  Chicago, Illinois

Date:   July 2016

This is my final set of photos taken during my Chicago trip last July.  If you’re interested in the other two posts they are found here:  Chicago I and here:  Chicago II.  I made a conscientious effort on this trip to photograph some of Chicago’s architecture; not just shoot and run as I’ve done in the past when in Chicago.  You’ll see in the photos below that I also gave street photography a shot, so to speak.  The architectural and street photography are just part of my attempts to move in directions beyond, or in addition to, macro flower and insect photography.  Except for the church in the firs photo, I’ve no idea what the buildings on the other photos are.

 

I’ve yet to figure out if there is a way with my software to make the perspective corrections when the buildings are leaning in different directions.  At this point I don’t think there is.  The church in the lower right is the Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago; directly across the street from the John Hancock Center at the north end of Michigan Avenue’s Magnificent Mile.  Except for this first photo almost all, if not all, of the remaining photos of buildings were taken in this same general area but on Rush Street or State Street.

 

I like the juxtaposition of old and new.

 

Zoomed in for a closer look at the top of the building in the photo above.

 

New encroaching on old?

 

 

 

My favorite lighted sign in Chicago.

 

I liked the colors in this but,

 

I wanted to get a street photography vibe going.

 

 

The problem with street photography, especially with people as subjects, is you almost always get only one shot at it (pun not intended but it’s almost always there when talking about the act of taking pictures).  This photo has at least one mistake that keeps it from being good vs. “could’ve been better”.  This is the third time I’ve made that same mistake under similar circumstances and those two other photos ended up as “could’ve been better”.  If don’t know what the mistake is and you want to hunt around a bit I’ll tell you what it is at the end of this post.

 

Surely you didn’t think I wouldn’t get at least one flower close up after walking around with a camera for two and a half days, did you?  Not positive of type but I’m guessing brown-eyed Susan.

 

Okay, so the mistake in the photo with the guy with the backpack walking past the dresses in the window is that I didn’t get all his feet (yes, I got both) and some the the sidewalk under his feet in the frame.   I don’t know about you but once I see that it becomes a distraction ofr me.

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Nikkor 24-85mm zoom lens.
7 thoughts on “Chicago III

Comments are always welcome.

