Chicago II

Place:  Chicago, Illinois

Date:   July 2016

This is the second post for the trip taken to Chicago last summer.  I’ve copied and pasted the lead in from Chicago I (the paragraphs in italics) to explain the reason for the trip and photo objectives.

At the end of July 2016 my wife and I took our almost annual trip to Chicago.  This time we went with two other couples.  I took a lot more pictures than I normally take on our Chicago trips.  I took a lot of pictures of my wife and our friends and I decided that I would start my effort to do something other than macros so I tried to take pictures of anything that looked interesting.  This being Chicago that meant I took a lot of photos of buildings.

One of the reasons we chose to go this particular weekend was because a tall ships festival was taking place at Navy Pier.  I only took a few tall ship photos because most were docked at the pier and didn’t make for good subjects with the hundreds of people all around.  Also it was a gray sky with faint clouds that kind of faded into the sky so looking out over the lake you saw water and, the at the horizon line, a wall of light gray with some sheets of very faint white grayish clouds.    

As usual for our Chicago trips we did a lot of walking.  We walked to Navy Pier and back from the Drake hotel and walked up and down Michigan Avenue from the Drake hotel at the north end to the old Marshall Fields flagship store (now Macy’s) just south of the river.  We also traipsed up and down Rush Street and State Street.  Those are just the north/south streets we covered.

I’ve taken photos of buildings in Chicago before but have never been that thrilled with the results.  This time, in my quest to move beyond macro, I put more effort into taking the photos and processing them.  This post is the second installment of the approximately twenty photos I kept.  If I don’t mention the building name, and in most cases I don’t, it’s because I don’t know it.

 

I like the comic book look of these first two photos.

 

 

This was taken a few blocks west of navy Pier looking west.  The clock tower building and the one to the right attached by a cross walk is the Wrigley building.  For a close up photo of the Wrigley building (before and after distortion correction) taken with my Samsung S6 phone see the post Odds ‘n Ends.

 

This was also taken a few blocks west of navy Pier looking west.  The small (size is relative here) clock tower building lower left center is the Wrigley building again and the tall building to the right with the American flag on the top is the Tribune building.

 

This was taken on the south side of Navy Pier looking south.  As with the first two photos, there was a light grey sky.  As this sky takes up so much of the photo the light grey made the photo extremely boring as both the gull and its perch were lost in the sky.  I guess that technically I now have a piece of digital art rather than a photograph.  I don’t care, I like it.

 

Below is evidence of the fact that the city of Chicago has some of the most unique architecture anywhere.  This photo was taken from the north side of Navy Pier looking to the west, northwest.  The large dark building on the right with the two towers is the John Hancock building, a.k.a. John Hancock Tower, and John Hancock Center.  I think the latter is its official name.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos were taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Nikkor 24-85mm zoom lens.
13 thoughts on “Chicago II

  1. Nice ones! You should consider visiting Chicago more often. But wait for the winter to be over. That’s one cold place when the wind blows this time of year.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you topcat, I’m glad you liked them. We also went to Nashville, and Orange Beach, Alabama last year and I have some non macro photos from those two cities to share in the future.

      Like

  2. Beautiful architectural photos, David. It is not always an easy subject to photograph. Being an architect, I have taken so may photos of interesting architecture too. You need good lighting to show them at their best.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Donna. I still wish I had a tilt-shift lens or easier perspective correction software, but I’m starting to warm up to architectural photography. It’s kind of liberating to be looking at something that’s not eight inches in front if my lens. Of course there are all sorts of lenses and specialized software I wish I had, so I’ll continue to try to improve my basics until those things will really make a difference in my photography.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

