Nothing But Bugs

Place:  My Backyard

Date:  October 17, 2015

By now you are probably realizing that I took a lot of pictures in my back yard in October last year.  Don’t worry, this is the last of them.  I know that technically the photos don’t have bugs, just insects, but I liked the alliteration in the title.  I guess I could have gone with Nothing But Interesting Insects but that might have been a bit of an oversell for the post.

I’m starting and ending this series of photos with a skipper.  They are not the same shot but they are the same skipper taken just seconds apart.  I’m paying tribute to skippers in this way because they have been my constant when ever I had a hankerin’ to photograph a bug.  If there were no other insects in sight I knew if I could find a flower I could find a skipper somewhere nearby.

 

Bumble bees seemed to be in short supply early in the season (carpenter bees picked up the slack for them) but the bumble bees appeared to come out of nowhere August and were pretty abundant and stayed that way through October.

 

 

While I’m not an old hand at it, I have been doing macro insect photography for three summers now and it seems to me that beginning sometime in September the pollinators become more friendly (or at least more tolerant) with differing species.  I assume the fact that a lot flowers have disappeared (almost all cone flowers in this area are gone by this time) means food is scarce and the guys are too busy getting theirs to mess around trying to scare someone off.

 

 

 

 

And here’s another shot of my friend the skipper.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
8 thoughts on “Nothing But Bugs

  1. Thank you Donna. Yes, much too long as I really don’t care for the cold weather. Some people have a sense they were born in the wrong century or even millennium. I know I was born in the wrong geographic locale. I was supposed to have been born in Tahiti, Hawaii, or Key West. 🙂

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

