Ste. Genevieve and Chaumette

Place:  Sainte Genevieve, Missouri and Chaumette Vineyards & Winery

Date:  October 2015

Last year my wife and I went with friends to Sainte Genevieve, Missouri, a town about 60 miles south of St. Louis and located on the Mississippi River.  According to Wikipedia it was:  “Founded in 1735 by French Canadian colonists and settlers from east of the river, it was the first organized European settlement west of the Mississippi River in present-day Missouri.”  We didn’t go for the history, we went for the wine.

Ste. Genevieve was just a convenient stopping place for lunch before heading a few miles southwest to the various vineyards in the area.  We had planned to do some shopping in St. Genevieve (and by we I mean our wives) but it was a Sunday and the town was pretty much shut down.  It reminded me of when I lived in a small town in the 50s and all the stores on the town square closed at 5:00 PM and they were all closed on Sundays.  The only exceptions were the two drug stores, restaurants, and the newsstand.  Also, being the county seat, many stores did stay open later on Fridays to accommodate farmers coming in to do their weekly shopping.

Despite the store closings the stop was well worth it because we found a restaurant with no wait for a table of six and it served a variety of really good food.  After everyone had finished eating and were looking at some knickknacks on sale by the cash register, I went outside looking for something to photograph.  I ended up taking three photos in the immediate are before everyone came out.  I’ll be posting two of the photos at a later time under a different subject.

This theater was just around the corner from where we ate  in Ste. Genevieve.  I liked color, lighting, and texture and of course the marquee.

 

The winery we had chosen to go to was Chaumette Vineyards & Winery.  There are dozens of wineries within a 30-60 minute drive of  St. Louis and they range from “whoa, who said we should try this” to very upscale.  Chaumette was more on the upscale end of the spectrum.  It had an attractive building with a restaurant, gift shop and tasting bar.  The large double doors at the back opened up to a patio overlooking the hills and a few steps down from the patio there was a large terraced seating area where we settled in.

After taking a number of pictures of our group and walking around a bit I realized there was really nothing to photograph except for the scenery.  So, I tried some landscapes.  I think they’re okay but nothing to write home about.  The two things that bother me the most about them are I didn’t control the light very well in most of them and to me the all look very soft.  They don’t have the detail and acuity that I like in a photograph.  If we go to this winery again I will definitely take a tripod.  I should also probably look into use of a graduated neutral density filter but I doubt I’ll put out the money for that to support a photo genre I probably won’t really get into.

 

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Nikkor AF-S 24-80mm zoom.
11 thoughts on “Ste. Genevieve and Chaumette

    • Thanks Steve. Yes, an in-camera HDR might have helped but I didn’t even think of it (probably because it’s one of the 97% of the camera’s features I have tried) but even so I probably would have needed a tripod for good alignment. If I think of it sometime I’ll try the HDR hand held to see how I do.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

