Chicago I

At the end of July 2016 my wife and I took our almost annual trip to Chicago.  This time we went with two other couples.  Because we were with friends I took a lot more pictures than normal.  I took a lot of pictures of my wife and our friends and I decided that I would start my effort to do something other than macros so I tried to take pictures of anything that looked interesting.  This being Chicago that meant I took a lot of photos of buildings.

One of the reasons we chose to go this particular weekend was because a tall ships festival was taking place at Navy Pier.  I only took a few tall ship photos because most were docked at the pier and didn’t make for good subjects with the hundreds of people all around.  Also it was a gray sky with faint clouds that kind of faded into the sky so looking out over the lake you saw water and, the at the horizon line, a wall of light gray with some sheets of very faint white grayish clouds.  Of the tall ship photos I did take I only kept one.  It’s not too bad but looks bad when downsized and converted to jpg so I’m not including it in my posts.  But I do have a tall ship photo at the end of this post.

A few years ago we spent a week in South Haven, Michigan and a tall ship from South Haven, Friends Good Will, was in Chicago this weekend.   In South Haven we took a sunset cruise on Friends Good Will so just seeing the ships at dock here was enough for us.  I took a photo of Friends Good Will in South Haven and that photo is the tall ship photo I mentioned being at the end of this post.

As usual for our Chicago trips we did a lot of walking.  We walked to Navy Pier and back from the Drake hotel and walked up and down Michigan Avenue from the Drake hotel at the north end to the old Marshall Fields flagship store (now Macy’s) just south of the river.  We also traipsed up and down Rush Street and State Street.  Those are just the north/south streets we covered.

I’ve taken photos if buildings in Chicago before but have nver been tht thrilled with the results.  This time, in my quest to move beyond macro, I put more effort into taking the photos and processing them.  This post is a first installment ofthe approximately twenty photos I kept.  I don’t mention the building name, and in most cases I don’t, it’s because I don’t know it.

In this first photo I tried perspective correction to get rid of the converging lines but it only works well with a head on shot of a single building.  I ened up with new and differnt distortion.  Still, I kind of like the distortion the correction created (undoubtedly a user error) in this photo.

 

 

 

The castle like building is part of the pumping station for the water tower across the street shown in the next photo.  The building rising behind it on the left is the John Hancock building.

 

The Chicago water tower.

 

 

The Friends Good Will in her home port of South Haven, Michigan.  Photo taken with Panasonic DMC-ZS7.

 

Photo taken from the deck of the Friends Good Will during a sunset cruise off the shoreline of North Beach in South Haven, Michigan.  Photo taken with Panasonic DMC-ZS7.

Thank you for stopping by.

David

 Except as noted, all photos takenwith a Nikon D7100 camera and a Nikkor 24-85mm zoom lens.
11 thoughts on “Chicago I

  1. I love architecture too! I don’t do enough of it. It’s nice to see you branching out. Nice shots. One day I’d like to go to Chicago. Not in the winter and not when it’s humid though. Is there such a time? LOL. Do you use Lightroom to correct? I like their new transform tools to fix verticals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is a time when the weather is nice but it’s a crap shoot in picking it in advance. 🙂 Fortunately on this trip we won the roll of the dice and had good weather.

      I use Nikon’s free Capture NX-D for initial adjustments and then do everything else in PaintShop Pro X8. A few years after Lightroom version 5 had been released I read a few reviews and a tutorial that got me all excited for it. I downloaded the trial version and didn’t like it. Last week I downloaded it again thinking I might put it on my Christmas list. Again I didn’t care for it and I’m afraid that, despite what Adobe says, it will become part if the CC suite. Economically it does not make sense for me to make monthly payments for software. I’m looking into other options such as DxO Optics Pro and digging into PaintShop Pro X8 more because it does have a multitude of features that could help with my image editing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad you had nice weather! That makes traveling so nice. LR is already part of the CC suite. I love it. It’s not intuitive though and to realize it’s power, tutorials are necessary. I teach LR just in case you’re interested. Shameless plug lol!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

