Still, There’s Still More of: In My Yard

Place:  My Back Yard

Date:  October 14, 2015

Time:  ~9:00 – 10:00 AM

As I said last week (but with different words) I’ve got gobs of photos of cosmoses.  I like to say that because I like the sound in my mind of the plural of cosmos.  It sounds like a disease, or at least a sickness.  “I think I’m coming down with a mild case of cosmoses.”  It also sounds a bit like an ancient Egyptian pharaoh – King Cosmoses was the great, great grandfather of the pharaoh Amenhotep.  Anyway, here are three more cosmoses.

 

 

 

Do you like woolly worms?  Check out this giant leopard moth caterpillar.  It’s the moth and not the caterpillar that is giant.  The caterpillar is characterized by its black woolly appearance and red bands around the body.  You can’t see the bands in this photo but a few specks of red do show through.

 

Once he curled up, which stretched apart the spines, the fairly attractive red bands became easy to see.

 

I consider this view from the other side more interesting than attractive.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
9 thoughts on “Still, There’s Still More of: In My Yard

    • Now that you mentioned it the same is true in this area. This was the first one I’d seen in quite a while. It seems like the local TV news use to go out and video them (like when they stick a yard stick in the snow or crack an egg on the sidewalk – I guess you have to swallow a lot of journalistic pride to do local news)) to see if their “wool” was especially thick which was supposed to indicate a cold winter.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

