Larson Park #1

Place:  Larson Park, Webster Groves, Missouri

Date:  October 8, 2015

Time:  2:34 PM -2:51 PM

 

I don’t go to this park too often because I don’t feel like it offers enough variety in the way of subjects, but I need a change of scenery every now and then.  Despite being taken during the 2:00 o’clock hour there was a fairly low sun due to the time of year.  This made for some nice backlighting on some subjects.

Just after snapping this photo I looked down at the ground to reposition my feet among some logs and rocks.  When I brought the camera back up she/he was gone.  When am I ever going to learn that with close up insects one has to be slow, no quick movement.  My guess is that he/she jumped away – that’s their nature you know.

 

This skipper was shot using the D7100’s built in flash.  I don’t think I could ever own a camera that didn’t have built in flash.  I use it mostly outdoors taking photos of my grandson.  He’s 18 months old and he is generally running around with his back to the sun to keep it out of his eyes.  It seems as though his face is always in shadows.   If I get the aperture right, so that I’m not overpowering him with light, the photos look great.

 

I have no idea of what kind of flower this is (where have you heard that before) but I love the pattern in this bud that is starting to open.

 

The next two photos are the same type of flower.  As usual they remind me of something other than what they are.  When I see them I can’t help but think of rastacaps.  You know, as in Bob Marley – the guy who shot the sheriff.

 

 

I think this is some kind of lantana.

 

This appears to be a spider’s dream catcher.  The low light behind trees on the west side of the park made for some good lighting.

 

Thanks for stopping by.

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
9 thoughts on “Larson Park #1

    • Thank you Debbie.The finding of interesting things is one of the aspects I love too. I think it’s kind of a Zen thing, the less you hunt for the interesting things the more you find them.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

