Blackburn Park September 24, 2015 (#1 Bees and Butterflies)

Place:  Blackburn Park, Webster Groves, Missouri

Date:  September 24, 2015

Time:  12:04 PM – 12:09 PM

I don’t get to Blackburn Park as much as I used to because it’s now a four mile round trip walk instead of two which really adds a lot more nonproductive time to the trip.  Not that adding those two extra miles wouldn’t be productive for me in some ways.

 

Let’s start off with some bee shots.  Carpenter bees to be specific.

 

 

 

Not to be outdone by those big old carpenter bees, a honey bee shows she can work upside down too.

 

And now the butterflies.  First the ubiquitous skipper with his proboscis all rolled up.  Wow!  I managed to use the words ubiquitous and proboscis in the same sentence … and I wasn’t even trying to.

 

Monarch butterfly and I think a male.

 

Probably a male white cabbage butterfly.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
14 thoughts on “Blackburn Park September 24, 2015 (#1 Bees and Butterflies)

  1. Oh, these are beautiful photos. Love the bees of course. It is so hard to capture the detail of their black bodies. That white butterfly looks so delicate. Like, if I blew on it I think it might turn to powder and disappear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks topcat. I can’t say I always exhibit a high degree of it (in fact one of my weaker photographic skills) but in all things photographic: patience. If there are a few buzzing around pick a flower (or two close to each other) and just wait for one to come in for a landing.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

