The Missouri Botanical Garden – September 9, 2015 (#3 More Bees and Stuff)

Place:  Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Missouri

Date:  September 9, 2015

Time:  1:05 PM – 1:09 PM

According to the EXIF data on the files the photos in this post were all shot in a short ~4 minute time period.  In contrast the time span on the photos in the first post of this series was ~30 minutes and the second was ~17 minutes.  Why so short a time period?  I’m not positive but I do generally shoot insects very quickly because if I spend too much time in composition they are liable to take off and leave me with nothing.  Still, I seem to have snapped quite a few decent pictures in a short time period – makes me wonder how accurate the EXIF time stamp is.

Yep, more bees.  This time it appears they’ve invaded monarch territory and are doing their thing on milkweed flowers.  That orange blob on the leaf at the edged of the frame on the lower right appears to be a milkweed bug.  Of course I didn’t see it when I was taking the picture.    I can’t tell if it is the small milkweed bug or the large milkweed bug; they are two distinct bugs.

 

 

 

Here’s a monarch also taking advantage of the milkweed flowers.  This monarch was very laid back and didn’t seem to mind me at all letting me shoot away as he lazily moved about.

 

 

Oops, here comes a bee interrupting the monarch show.

 

Back to the monarch show.

 

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
15 thoughts on “The Missouri Botanical Garden – September 9, 2015 (#3 More Bees and Stuff)

  1. I like your bee photos. I can’t seem to get them from the front, i try to get them looking at me, but think that I need to practice a bit more. You make it look so effortless. And your butterfly are also really good.
    Good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Topcat. For bees I have to move around a lot because they do. When they are on a flower I try to determine which direction they are grazing and then head them off at the pass. But lots of misses because they are erratic. The one I caught flying in was much more luck than anything else.

      Like

    • Thank you Eliza. I don’t think I’ve seen a viceroy since I was a little kid. I have this fear though that one day I’m not going to be paying attention and will embarrass myself by posting a viceroy and identifying it as a monarch.

      Like

      • The viceroy has a black band laterally across its hindwing, the monarch doesn’t. BTW, a monarch graced my garden this afternoon – so thrilling! I was unable to get an open wing shot, but closed works for me! I’ll do a post with both butterflies. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

