The Missouri Botanical Garden – September 9, 2015 (#2 Flowers and Stuff)

Place:  Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Missouri

Date:  September 9, 2015

Time:  12:43 PM – 1:05 PM

Once again I couldn’t see the forest for the trees.  My subject was the sunflower but it appears a crab spider was hiding in plain sight when I took this picture and I don’t have a close up of him because I didn’t see him.

 

Here are both again with a little bit better lighting.  Seeing the web maded me wonder if this is really a crab spider as they don’t make webs.  The fact the he appears to be hiding in wait for a meal and his coloring is perfectly camouflaged with the flower (they can change their color to match their background similar to chameleons)  makes me think he is a crab spider and the web belongs to another critter.  But then again, I don’t really know.

 

Some more carpenter bees, this time on red flowers instead of blue as in last week’s post.

 

 

 

These flowers attracted more than just bees.  Here’s the rear end of a spotted cucumber beetle.

 

I think this is my favorite image from this trip.  Not sure what it is but I’m guessing some sort of grass.

 

For a short but interesting article on crab spiders’ ability to change their color see:   This Camouflaged Spider can Change its Color.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.

 

P. S.

I guess you noticed I’m back to my original WordPress theme.  I had tried the other because the home page was supposed to similar to this theme with thumbnails from all the posts but with the added advantage of of showing the date posted with the thumbnail.  More than one person has been understandably confused by the dates in my titles which are the dates the photos were taken.

Unfortunately the thumbnails for the new theme didn’t show up as they did in the example and I didn’t think the new theme photo size and background complimented the photos as well as this theme.  That’s why I went back and forth.  I may do it again in the future.  The grass is always greener on the other side … until you get there and see it up close.

12 thoughts on “The Missouri Botanical Garden – September 9, 2015 (#2 Flowers and Stuff)

  1. Really great photos David. I would say there is another spider spinning that web on the sunflower, as you rightly say the crab spider lies in wait for a bite to eat. I just love that last image. The colours, patterns, and main subject are superb.

    I notice you also use the Sigma 105 macro lens. It’s a great piece of kit, isn’t it? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comments Pete and yes I agree the Sigma 105mm macro is pretty great. I did a lot on web searching for reviews before I purchased it and came away with the conclusion that any possible advantage the Nikkor 105mm micro had over it was far out weighed by the lower cost of the Sigma. I love it and it rarely comes off my camera.

      Like

    • Thank you Maverick. Crab spiders are pretty interesting and easy to photograph – when you see them. I used to encounter them (and spotted cucumber beetles) fairly often on a pale yellow knockout rose bush at our old house.

      Like

    • Thank you Donna. I had high hopes for the theme change but like I said, “the grass is always greener … .” I hope that’s not going to be a thing now. “I was photographing a flower and pulled a David.” 🙂

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

