The Missouri Botanical Garden – September 9, 2015 (#1 Bugs and Bees)

Place:  Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Missouri

Date:  September 9, 2015

Time:  Noon – 1:30 PM

The first thing I found to photograph when I entered the garden was a shield or stink bug exploring the edges of his world.

 

I like the bug’s shadow in this photo.

 

This bee had to open up the petals of the flower to get in and out of the area where the pollen was.  The petals were like big thick blankets that folded over and completely closed up when the bee entered.

 

The next five photos are of a carpenter bee who let me get as close as I wanted as he worked a couple of flowers.  I’ve said this before but I find carpenter bees hard to photograph.  Their abdomens are like black holes.  It seems as though light photons hit them and get swallowed up with no reflection back for the camera.  This day was different.  I managed to get pictures showing all the bee parts and not just a black smudge.

 

For this one and the next one I used the camera’s built in flash.

 

 

Back to no flash with some high key processing similar to the first carpenter bee photo.

 

Again no flash but also no high key processing; trying to keep it more natural.  I’m not sure what this bee is doing other than hanging on for dear life.

 

The title has #1 in it so yes you can expect more photos from this trip.

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
12 thoughts on “The Missouri Botanical Garden – September 9, 2015 (#1 Bugs and Bees)

    • Thank you Eileen. I try to do something more that just document and I admire your artistic sensibilities, especially with your still lifes, so to have you say these are artistic is a great compliment for me.

      Like

  1. That shadow is great making him appear monstrously huge. Photographing black things is SO hard. We have very lovely boat tailed grackles here standing around in amazing poses but I can never really do them justice. I am not certain about this but that bee might be doing something called nectar robbing where they bypass the pollen and go straight for the good stuff. I sometimes try to imagine what it would be like to be inside funnel shaped flowers. Probably a lot like being in a wonderfully fragrant brightly coloured tent. Some bees sleep in flowers that have petals that close over night. To get out they eat their way through the petal. That’s the kind of camping I’d love to do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Debra for the interesting info on nectar robbing and sleeping in. I don’t think I’d hear of either before. The flower did completely close up but it was like a gentle blanket being draped over the opening so all the bee had to do was push her way through to get in and out.

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

