Faust Park #3

I’m still showing photos from my September 2015 trip to St. Louis County’s Faust Park.

This week’s photos are all about the monarch butterfly.  But before that, I forgot one of my honey bee photos last week and it was my favorite one – so here it is.

 

Now on with the monarch stuff.  Milkweed pod.  Monarchs eat only milkweed plants and they use the milkweed plant to lay their eggs.  But don’t run out and start planting milkweed until you read this otherwise you may be doing more harm than good.

 

So, is he climbing up … or down?

 

Getting his inverted crunches in to maintain those 12-pack abs.

 

T

 

 

 

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
5 thoughts on “Faust Park #3

  1. Great photos. David. I would love to see a larva on any of my plants! When I was a kid, they were everywhere. Now, nothing. 😦 The article was interesting, but the comments were even more so! It seems there is a lot of controversy about this tropical milkweed and OE, which I wasn’t aware of. Not a problem here as we get winter kill, but as many of the monarchs pass through Texas, it could have an impact. Another reason to plant only natives!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t aware of the issue until I stumble over that article researching the monarchs. A friend gave me a milkweed plant last summer. I have no idea what species but it didn’t make it through the winter so I guess no harm done and I don’t plane to replace it. Researching dahlias as a possible replacement instead. 🙂 I think you’re right about natives. There’s been too much destruction to flora and fauna due to non-native species that, in cases, were introduce with the best of intentions but have/are wrecking havoc as invasive species.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Agreed!
        The adult monarchs love zinnias and the one that visited me the other day also alighted on globe thistle.
        Native joe-pye weed is popular with both larva and adult of several species of butterflies.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that theory, if it hasn’t been completely debunked, is at the very least not terribly sound. Providing food and habitat doesn’t hut wildlife. What does hurt them is agricultural practices that slather on pesticides and devote land to monoculture crops. The area devoted to those lands is so vast compared to the area people use for growing flowers for one thing that flower gardening just doesn’t rate. But there are other reasons why it holds little weight. The toxin in tropical milkweed is stronger and the butterflies actually prefer it to some of the native species available as the plant can be a more efficient food source. The trigger to migrate comes from temperatures and prevailing winds not abundant food sources. And some monarchs don’t migrate — it is a bit of variability built into the species. The anti-tropical milkweed media blitz was put out there by agro-industry as a smokescreen to the real issues that threaten insect populations. (bows and removes soapbox ….)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

