Faust Park #2

Still in Faust Park looking for things to photograph.  See Faust Park #1 for a little background info in the park.

Came across this flower (zinnia?) and had to take its picture.

 

Two weeks ago in my first post about Faust Park I mentioned it was a golden day for honey bees.  They were enjoying the cooler color palette also.

 

 

As the honey bees were gathering pollen this insect was exploring a leaf from one end to another.   With my relatively recent purchase of Field Guide to Insects and Spiders of North America, I thought I would never again have to say I have no idea of what type of insect this is.   But here we are and there he is.  An unknown (to me) insect.  I am pretty sure I have photographed this species before and determined, or was told, what type of insect it is but that knowledge eludes me leaving me in the all to familiar state of insect ignorance.  Please don’t let your children, or grand children, or nieces and nephews grow up to be insect ignorant.  While they are still young buy them a decent field guide and teach them how to use it.

 

 

If I’m reading my Field Guide to Insects and Spiders of North America correctly, this is a black-and-yellow mud dauber.  Supposedly a not very aggressive species that rarely stings.  These are the guys that build those mud tubes on concrete walls, building rafters, and and other out of the way places.  They leave paralyzed spiders in them for the larvae.  UPDATED:  After posting and while researching the black bug above to see if it might be a wasp based on feedback from Michael Marlow (see his comments below), I discovered I had transcribed the wrong nest information for the black_and-yellow mud dauber.  His nest looks like a smooth mud clod abut the size of a small fist.  Appropriately enough the tube shaped nests are built by the organ pipe mud dauber.

 

Of the few different types of insects I’ve photographed, and based on looks, this is my favorite:  the locust borer.  It’s a pest of the black locust tree but supposedly the black locust tree is considered an invasive species in some area so maybe we don’t have to feel too sorry for it.

 

 

More from Faust Park next week and thanks for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lenses.
12 thoughts on “Faust Park #2

    • Thanks Mike. I did see a a bee or wasp it might look like but I couldn’t really make the connection. Never heard of a sawfly so I looked it up and I see the resemblance there too. One good thing came out of looking into this further. I found a mistake a made about the black-and-yellow mud daubers’ nests so I was able to make a correction there.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Donna. I’ve seen a few article saying it appears the bees are making a come back but it doesn’t appear any one is sure they have fully recovered. I’ve really never noticed a shortage of honey bees, carpenter bees, or green metallic bees. Bumble bees may have been in short supply but that also may just be the normal population where I live.

      Like

  1. Love these! Insects/arthropods are the most successful lifeforms on the planet. Super abundant and always evolving and sometimes cross breeding. Even the experts have trouble sometimes with identification. I like to think of camera roving as a kind of wildlife safari where I get to discover something new. Sometimes that means endless dithering over pictures and descriptions later in an attempt to get the name right. When the frustration gets to be too much I ask the real experts at BugGuide.net

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

