Tower Grove Park (Part 4)

Last September I went to Tower Grove Park to try to get dragonfly photos.  I got them plus photos of lotus and water lily plants, bees, and ducks.  During the past three weeks I shared photos of the bees, the lotus and water lily plants, and the dragonflies.  This week it’s the the ducks.

As a reminder, I’m using my Nikkor 80-400mm telephoto zoom instead of the Sigma 105mm macro that I normally use for close ups.   The majority of the dragonflies in this park are found on the the lily and lotus plants in the ponds about three feet away shore.  There’s really no other way to stay out of the water and get the shots.  Turns out lens worked out well for all the categories of photos I took that day.

 

Finally!  I have all of my ducks in a row.  Well, pretty darn close.

 

Ducks don’t just sit in the water like – well, like sitting ducks.  They play in it also.

 

They also indulge themselves in the water

 

and even become a bit coquettish.

 

They have even been know to totally emerge themselves in the experience

 

and not just casually.

 

After you have dunked yourself

 

you have to, as Taylor Swift says, “shake it off”.   Maybe this duck’s white feathers were an inspiration for one of the scenes in this.

 

This duck looks as though it is either trying to get water out of its ear or is waving goodbye.  Since this is last photo I shot as I was leaving Tower Grove Park, and the last photo in this post, and in this series, let’s assume the duck is waving goodbye.

 

Goodbye.

Thank you for visiting.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Nikkor 80-400mm telephoto zoom lens.
13 thoughts on “Tower Grove Park (Part 4)

Comments are always welcome.

