Tower Grove Park (Part 3)

Last September I went to Tower Grove Park to try to get dragonfly photos.  I got them plus photos of lotus and waterlily plants, bees, and ducks.In my last post I shared photos of lotus and water lily plants and the week before it was the bees.  This week I’m sharing the dragonflies and next week it will be the ducks.

Just a reminder that I’m using my Nikkor 80-400mm telephoto zoom instead of the Sigma 105mm macro that I normally use for close ups.   The majority of the dragonflies in this park are found on the the lily and lotus plants in the ponds about three feet away shore.  There’s really no other way to stay out of the water and get the shots unless I use a telephoto.

So here are my dragonfly photos from Tower Grove Park.

 

I kind of wonder if he stepped another inch or so forward, would the plant bend?

 

This is a dragon fly in the obelisk position, I think.  I say I think because usually when in this position their abdomen is straight.  See this Wikipedia entry for info on why they assume this position.  Maybe this guy is just starting to get into position and, like me trying to do the tree position, it can take a while to get settled into the correct form.

 

 

A few of the more typical obelisk positions with a straight abdomen.

 

 

 

 

This is my favorite photo of the series because of the composition.  A little different than most.  Also his anchor spot, a lotus bud, is different from all the others.

 

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Nikkor 80-400mm lens.

NOTE:

I had cataract surgery yesterday for my left eye.  The cataract was pretty bad so when the patch came off today I was amazed at the difference in my sight out of the left eye.  Things are so much brighter, cleaner, sharper, and the colors more intense.  It makes me wonder how, if it all, this has/will effect my photography.  Have I been “over” processing my files to compensate for the darkness, lack of clarity, or muddy colors?  When I get a chance I’ll review some of the files from the past few months to see if they look the same as when originally process or if now I think they have been over processed.  I know that I’ve not been very satisfied with the majority of my work this year, maybe this accounts for some of that.  Interesting thoughts, at least for me.

David

20 thoughts on “Tower Grove Park (Part 3)

  1. Oh gosh. Hope you are feeling ok.
    As always your compositions are stunning. Love these. I used to think the dragonflies were doing yoga but someone with a better science background than I have told me they are doing that to cool themselves. (I still prefer the yoga theory)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Your photos look fine to me. It’s amazing how much light those cataracts block. Get yourself some cool sunglasses. You’ll need them when you go outside.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Steve. Yes I’m looking forward to a new pair of cool sunglasses. The doctor gave me a pair but they definitely are not cool. They are the kind that if you even think of wearing them your kids (even if they are in their 30s) will refuse to acknowledge you let alone be seen with you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice set. I’m not good with dragonfly identifications but those look like blue dashers to me. The light blue abdomens would be the males and the black and yellow the females. I’d also say that crooked obelisk position is bad news for that dragon but maybe not. Glad to hear your eye surgery went well. Not sure if your photos came out as intended but they’ve come out well.

    Like

    • Thanks Mike. I’m terrible with dragonfly id so I don’t even try. The first time I tried to id one the only thing I could come up with was a species from Vietnam. I mean I wasn’t even in the same hemisphere!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Haha! Well, my advice in that case is stick with bugguide.net and pray (if you find that helps). You might only end up as far as south Texas or Northern Canada. 🙂

        I only could guess at the blue dasher because it is one of the most common dragons at my favorite park and incidentally the most cooperative of an uncooperative Order of insects. For some reason the blue dashers I’ve photographed seem to stay still even though I have to get very close to shoot (like 2 or 3 inches at times). Even when they do “flinch”, they’ll fly off briefly before returning to the same exact perch. I’ve got a bit of a soft spot for them.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I agree with you on the cooperative nature of blue dashers. I’ve only been able to come across one up close (i.e. not in water) once and I got great up close photos because it just let me get as close as I wanted for as long as I wanted. I’m still looking to repeat that experience.

          Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you MK. These photos were taken 9 months ago so I wasn’t too concerned about them. I was wondering about the ones taken the past couple of months when my sight was dark and muddy. Wondered if maybe I may have over compensated in my processing. I’ve checked and everything looks normal.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

