Blackburn Park – August 26, 2015

It’s August 26, 2015 in my blog timeline and two days since my last photo outing which was a walk around the neighborhood.  I’m at Blackburn Park now and I managed to walk away with 17 photos that I kept.   I’ll share about half of them in the post and the remainder in my next post.

 

I’m not sure what type of butterfly this is.  I think it might be a clouded sulphur but then again it might be a cloudless sulphur.  I tried to find a web site what would give a “comapare and contrast” for the two but the only one I found was useless.  There was a time when I would have taken notes from my various sources and created my own compare and contrast to arrive at an answer.  However, during those time I was either getting paid for my research and analyses or I was getting a grade and I get neither now so I let it slide.  The older I get the more control I have over determining what is important to me.

 

 

 

The next three photos are skippers – what I call the puppy dogs of the butterfly world.  They tend to be pretty skittish but after awhile they seem to get used to me, calm down, and make it pretty easy to get a photo.

 

 

 

Two shots of a bumble bee.  It’s the same bee I just moved in closer on the second shot.

 

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
8 thoughts on “Blackburn Park – August 26, 2015

  1. Nice shots, David. That top butterfly astonishes me with it’s pastel pinks & blues. I’ve never seen any like it.
    Did you catch that skipper supping at the flower, or is that my imagination?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you MK and no, it’s not your imagination. I have noticed that a large portion of my skipper photographs have them with their proboscis in action slurping up the nectar.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

