Another Walk – August 24, 2016

A couple of days after lugging the 80-400mm lens around on a walk I went on anther walk; this time with the Sigma 105mm macro – the planets are back in alignment.

 

I normally say “I have no idea what kind of flower this is”, but I think I have a chance here to identify a flower other than a rose or a Shasta daisy.  I’m pretty sure this is a clump of live forever, a.k.a. stone crop and sedum.

 

I wasn’t sure so, just to play it safe, I was real quite when I walked by.

 

A couple of more shots of freshly minted western tent caterpillars.

 

 

I don’t know the cause but somehow this ended up looking like a crepe paper bumble bee on a crepe paper flower.  Also the background kind of looks like it belongs in a French impressionist painting.

 

These aren’t my best fly photos in the traditional sense of a macro, but I like them because I feel like I’m sharing their environment with them.  Also I really like the oversized shadows.

 

This photo makes me want to lotok over the edge of the leaf with the fly to see what’s down there.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and Sigma 105mm macro lens.

P. S.  After posting this it dawned on me I might be at a milestone with WordPress so I checked it out and sure enough today marks exactly two years on WordPress.

10 thoughts on “Another Walk – August 24, 2016

    • Thanks Steve, on both counts. I’ll see about the cake, I really don’t need an excuse for cake but I am trying to watch what I eat. That gave me an idea, I’ll sit in front of a mirror while I’m eating my cake – problem solved. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are always welcome.

