More From Midmorning Walk – August 20, 2015

Last week I had photos of a couple of monarch butterflies taken during a midmorning walk last August.  This week I have some flowers from that walk.  If you saw last weeks post you might remember that for these photos I wasn’t using the Sigma 105mm macro lens like I almost always do.  Instead I went with my rarely used Nikkor 80-400mm telephoto for closeups.  Also you might remember that with this lens the closest I can get is 5.7 feet.  With the Sigma macro lens I can get as close as 12.3 inches and I am rarely more than 18 inches away so it takes some getting used to the 5.7 feet limit.  I am constantly finding myself not able to obtain focus and wondering what is going on and then remember I have to step back a few feet.

 

Coneflowers on their last legs.

 

I nearly lost my head when I first saw this and, for a moment, I thought maybe she was carrying hers.

 

As usual I don’t know what type of flower this is but I thought it made a pretty terrific background for the statuette above.

 

A coneflower in its prime.

 

Sunflower just starting to come off its prime.

 

I think I may have posted something similar to this before; a sunflower processed with Local Tone Mapping in PaintShop Pro X8 pumped up to give it a van Gogh-ish vibe.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and Nikkor AF-S 80-400mm telephoto lens.
10 thoughts on “More From Midmorning Walk – August 20, 2015

  1. I love the pumped up sunflower David – very exciting – I use PSP8 but don’t think I’ve ever used tone mapping … There’s probably much else that I’ve never used too. (Mental note to watch their tutorials!) love your other pics too, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Eileen. I’m constantly discovering features in PSPX8. This version 18 and I’ve been using it since version 5 so you’d think I would know more than I do.

      Like

  2. I too have a tendency to get too close with a long lens. It is one of the reasons I never use it for closeup work. Plus you have to keep the shutter speed up to the length of the lens to avoid lens shake. VR was never my favorite feature either. Nice tour in the garden.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Donna. I agree long lenses are not the best choice for close up work but I’d been using my macro so much and the 80-400mm so little I thought it was time get it out and get some practice with it. Of course it turns out I ended up not using it for what it is really made for.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

