More From the August 18 Blackburn Park Trip

Last week I shared the insect photos from Blackburn Park and this week I have the phlower photos.

 

I think this flower is a lantana as identified by Maverick from a photo in a previous post.

 

I don’t remember what this is nor do I remember if I ever knew.

 

This is a cosmos (cosmos sulphureus?) which is in a small garden in the front yard at the edge of the sidewalk where I almost always stop by on my walk home from Blackburn Park.

 

What follows are two different shots of the same cosmos bud with basically the same angle of view but different cropping and processing.  I wouldn’t normally show two such similar photos because I think my job is to identify the best version and present that. Normally I can do that, but not this time.  I like both at different times and can’t pick a favorite.

 

 

Once again a flower that I have no idea of what type it is.

 

In an attempt to avoid saying “I’ve no idea what this is” again, I’m going to guess the flower below is some sort of gnarly sunflower.  This is an isolated piece of the whole which had several sections like this reaching about 6 feet tall.

 

Okay, that’s it for the flowers.  This last photo is something completely different from the insects, flowers, and trees that I normally photograph at Blackburn Park.

On this day at Blackburn I was taking photos from a spot I had never shot from before.  As you’re looking at this picture I was a good ways off to the right of the wall and just about even with it.  I kept noticing something out of the corner of my eye as I was trying to shoot.  It looked like a pair of legs in light blue jeans but I tried to ignore it.  I didn’t want to turn around and stare at someone but out of the corner of my eye I kept seeing these rather large straight legs in light jeans or leggings with darker blue boots.  Finally, trying not to obviously stare, I nonchalantly turned my head to the left and saw it wasn’t a person.

Now, if you’ve been following this blog for any length of time you know that with my flower photos I often see things in the photos that aren’t really there.  Maybe I don’t actually see things that aren’t there, maybe it’s more that what I see strongly reminds me of something else.  The thing is, I never see these things (or get reminded of something else) while I’m taking the picture.  It’s always after I’ve loaded the file on my PC and go through them for the keepers.

This time, for this photo, it was different.  As soon as I stood up I saw something that wasn’t really there and I took the picture knowing I saw more than what was there.  I’m actually kind of embarrassed to say what I saw (what does what I saw say about me?), but I’ve got to get it out of my system.

I need to be a little bit delicate here because, while I assume all the readers are adults, there might be some younger readers who like to look at the pretty flowers or gross bugs.  So, when I stood up I confirmed what I had caught out of the corner of my eye.  A pair of rather substantial legs in light blue leggings with a darker pair of go-go boots, folded over at the top.  But that’s not the totality of what I saw, and this is the more delicate part.

Hopefully you adults all know your American history, or at least Civil War trivia.  With that outfit what I saw was one of “General Hooker’s ladies” waiting on the corner for someone like SpongeBob SquarePants to come walking by.  If no one else sees this I’m going to be extremely embarrassed.

 

Thank you for stopping by,

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
10 thoughts on “More From the August 18 Blackburn Park Trip

    • Thanks MK. I’ve been more concerned with the count of people who also so what I saw in the last photo. I am now satisfied I’m not crazy – or at least I’m not alone. With regard to the other, it is always interesting to compare others’ thoughts with yours on subjective matters.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

