Blackburn Park – August 18, 2016

It’s now August 18 in my blog world and I’ve made a trip to Blackburn Park.  The park hadn’t been too good to me (in terms of photo ops) in the first part of the summer because of all the spring and June rains.  This trip was decent enough though.  Instead of showing my photos as taken, this time I’m going to do what I did for the Lake of the Ozarks post and show the insects and flowers separately in two posts.  In this post I’ll go with the insects.

Most of my insect photos from Blackburn are taken on bushes that surround and little playground designed for toddler aged kids.  These bushes attract bees, some butterflies, and skippers – lots of skippers.  There are usually at least a couple of dozen skippers flittering about and they are pretty good about letting me get up close and personal.

So let’s start off with three photos if skippers.

 

 

 

I found one honey bee on the bushes.

 

I found another honey bee on a cosmos (maybe cosmos sulphureus), but this was on the walk back; not in the park.

 

I also cam across a monarch on the playground bushes in the park.  My experience with the monarchs in Blackburn is that they are not that plentiful on these bushes and they are not at all cooperative when it comes to getting their picture taken.  They make you work for it.

 

The final series consists of 5 photos of carpenter bees.  Now, on the first and last photo I can’t see the bees’ abdomens so I’m not 100% certain those two are carpenter bees, but I’m pretty sure they are.  For all I can remember all five might be the same bee.

 

 

 

As always, thank you for stopping buy.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 DLSR and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
8 thoughts on “Blackburn Park – August 18, 2016

    • Thanks MK. The bumble and carpenter bees are two of my favorite insects to photograph. They’re big which often means I don’t have to crop to much and, relative other insects, they are pretty docile an “patient” with me giving me lots of time to compose and move around them. This seems to be especially true of the carpenter bees. I really like your observation of the contrast between the apparent “material” of the wings and head. Not sure how the transparent material of the wings is held on but it’s pretty obvious the headed is riveted or bolted on.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

