Butterfly Garden – August 15, 2016

A week after my trip to Lake of the Ozarks I found myself at the Butterfly Garden again.  As mentioned previously, the garden is midway in one of my two mile exercise walks so I was there pretty frequently this past summer, but not always with a camera.

 

One of my favorite flowers to photograph last summer was zinnias.  I like the fact that they look so different throughout their life cycle and I especially like their Art Deco look as buds.  If that sounds familiar I think I’ve mentioned that previously also.  I took a bunch of pictures of them this time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In addition to the zinnias I once again found the tree that grows the pimento stuffed, Spanish olives and some grass seed that looks like a green woolly caterpillar.

 

 

I’ve complained in the past that the Butterfly Garden has been lacking in butterflies except for the omnipresent  skippers.  Finally, here in mid-August, I found a couple of true butterflies.

 

In addition to the monarch above, I was able to shoot the spicebush swallowtail shown below.

 

All in all a good stop at the Butterfly Garden.

 

And I hope this was a a good stop for you.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
22 thoughts on “Butterfly Garden – August 15, 2016

  1. Very nice shots, David. Not sure if I’ve ever seen a spicebush swallowtail; come to think of it, I’m not sure if Massachusetts is part of their range. I also like zinnias just for the reasons you mention, but I have a heck of a time shooting the blossoms at their peak; I can never get satisfactory focus on those yellow mini-flowers and I’m not overly fond of how my camera renders that kind of yellow either. But the butterflies (and the bees) surely love them, so I’ve got no real complaints.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mike. If I remember correctly your macro set up is the reverse lens technique. I’m amazed how you get any thing in focus with that. You produce some great photos with it but I wouldn’t have the patience to work with the short depth of field.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it is the reverse lens method. I think I get pretty good DoF considering, if I make my aperture small enough; one of the more frustrating parts about that however is, the aperture doesn’t stay open before firing the shot, which means it’s pretty dark looking through the viewfinder. Still I’m partial to the set up. Though maybe one day, I’ll get a nice, regular old macro lens. Maybe. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for a very satisfying visit, David. Altogether it looks like a happy landing place for humans & butterflies.
    Love the Zinnias, and I’m glad you identify your bugs & flowers.
    Me, I can only tell that they’re bugs & flowers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you MK. I have to admit I don’t really push myself to identify the flowers and insects. I’m always interested in knowing names but if I can’t find it with two or three searched I give up. I’d photographed the zinnias a couple of times at the butterfly garden but didn’t find their name on a quick search and lost interest. One day at the Missouri Botanical Garden I saw some and there was their name on a little plaque. So there you go; wait and it will come to you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

