Lake of the Ozarks – August 8, 2015 (Part 2)

In last week’s post I mentioned our twice a year trip (February and August) to Lake of the Ozarks.  I didn’t take many photos and what I did take were flowers and insects.  Last week I shared the flowers.  The last photo in that post (and a teaser for this week’s photos) was an off kilter, rear end view of a Japanese beetle.  I think I’ve mentioned this before but the first time I ever saw Japanese beetles was a few of years ago when vacationing in South Haven, Michigan. Hundreds of them were destroying a couple of bushes along a sidewalk we took each day.  Except for social insects likes bees and ants I had never seen such a huge conglomeration of insects.  Oops, I take that back.  I have seen huge numbers of maggots covering a dead animal.

Wikipedia says that the Japanese beetles are not very destructive in Japan because of natural predators but in North America they do serious damage to rose bushes, grapes, hopes, canna, myrtles, birch trees, linden trees and others.  These at the lake were doing serious damage, if not annihilation, to a rose bush.

 

This first photo is a solitary Japanese beetle.  In my limited experience they are not often seen solo but prefer mob action.

 

The next three photos show the beetles devouring a rose bush.

 

 

 

This was on the other side of the sidewalk.  It will probably be next.

 

I also saw a bumble bee and a wasp nearby.  In this photo and the next it appears that about half of the bee’s right antenna is broken off.

 

 

When I first saw this wasp he was pretty tangled up in the periphery of a spider web.  Unfortunately I don’t have photos of the early stages where he was really tangled.  Well I technically did have photos but they somehow got overexposed to the point of uselessness, the result of stupid user error, or is that a stupid error of the user – either case same result.

 

 

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
15 thoughts on “Lake of the Ozarks – August 8, 2015 (Part 2)

    • Thank you Mike. I can’t even begin to tell you how upset I was when I finally check my LDC and saw I was overexposing the wasp photos. I had 8 or 10 shots of it in various stages of entanglement in the spider web. As is the usual cause of mistakes I was in a hurry to get back to the condo but couldn’t pass up what I was seeing. A minor fish story of the ones that got away.

      Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t know that there is an official term for them. I like the alliteration of what you said, “a bunch of beetle bugs”, but since beetles are not true bugs that might not work. Maybe we could try going with a “bunch o’ beetles”.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I am looking forward to that plus wearing shorts, flip flops, walking in the AM, the swimming pool, and trying to get a garden going in the clay pit I dug up last fall.

      Like

    • Thank MK. I agree the mayhem on the bush is horrible. When I see that, kudzu in the South and some of the rivers in this area infested with Asian carp it really upsets me that we shoot ourselves in the foot with regard to the environment because of carelessness and stupidity.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Maverick. The photos I took a few years ago in Michigan were in bright sunlight and the metallic colors and reflections were more prominent than in these photos. Also that camera had a tiny 1/2.3″ sensor that had almost infinite depth of field so the bunch o’ beetles looked more pristine and less messy.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

