Flies Flies, It’s All a Bunch of Flies

This is the final set of photos taken in my yard August 3, 2015.  In case you haven’t already guessed it, these are all photos of flies.  I’ve tried to identify what type of flies they are, but feel free to correct me if I got it wrong.  I think the first photo is a long-legged fly and the last four are flesh flies.  I don’t  really remember but it’s posssible the flesh flies may be just multiple shots of the same one.

There is one thing different in the last four photos from all the other macros and close ups I’ve posted in the past.  This difference is that while I used the Sigma 105mm macro I had a 2x close up filter attached to the lens.  I didn’t care for it that much.  The first time I used my Sigma 105mm macro I didn’t care for it that much either so with time I may come to like the 2x filter.  The main things I didn’t like about the close up filter were the extremely narrow depth of field which I knew would happen and the fact that I couldn’t just stand up after taking a macro shot and shoot something more than a couple of inches away.  I hadn’t thought about that.  Sure you just unscrew the lens but then you have to have some place to put it and worry about getting dust or dirt on it if you plan on using it again.  When I’m taking pictures I don’t like anything to interrupt my flow so I’m being pretty picky here.  I do like the results (and that’s what really counts) so I’m sure over time I will learn to like it.  I bought a set so I also have a 1x and a 4x which I can combine for various powers.

Long-legged fly

 

The rest of the photos are what I think are flesh flies and may be multiple shots of just one.

 

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens with a 2x close up filter as noted at the beginning of the post.
24 thoughts on “Flies Flies, It’s All a Bunch of Flies

    • Thanks Eileen. I’m not really a bug fan. I think they are gross ans some really give me the creeps. But I have always been fascinated with close up of them, or almost anything, because you get to see things/details that you didn’t know existed. It’s like looking into another world, one that is, like I said, sometimes gross and creepy.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Nothing gross or creepy about this magnificent nature, to me. To me it’s our own nature – there ‘I’ am, as a fly.

    We, Man, have been divining and trying to reproduce their (natural creatures) form and function since the advent of self-consciousness, as our science. As a part of the process of ‘knowing thy self’.

    “I see skies of blue and clouds of white
    The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night”

    What a wonderful world … 🙂

    You get used to the filter, then you’ll want a stronger dioptre achromat. The Raynox 150 is a +4 dioptre and comes with a universal clip on adapter that’s easy to mount and dismount so you don’t have to screw it …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m the same with change. I nearly always dislike some new thing, and I can look around the room and point to so many objects I now love, but which started out as “no, I don’t think so.”

    Anyway, I think the last shot of the 4th flesh fly is the creepiest, and the first shot of the long-legged fly is oh so beautiful. Reminds me of Fred Astaire & Ginger Rogers for some reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I forgot to say – I really like this super-close-in effect. I still have an I.O.U. for a Christmas present, and I’m going to cash it in on something in the lens category. I hope I don’t dislike it right off the bat!

    Like

  4. I’ve yet to try macros of flies or spiders (the latter will never happen). I’ve wondered about extensions. I have a 105 but I mostly don’t shoot too close with it. Bi thought about getting the (I think) 200 but I read you almost always have to have it on a tripod. So that leaves me out lol. I hardly ever use one unless it’s sunset or night photography. Nicely done by the way! I like that ghostly feel to the last one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Laura, the last one is my favorite too. It’s a good example of how you have to get a side view to keep the whole subject in focus, even though the front of the foreground wing and the wing in the back are out of focus due to the shallow depth of field. The Sigma 105mm on my D7100 body is effectively 157mm. I never use a tripod so I would think the 200mm with VR on a FX body would be good hand held.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Spectacular shots. Wow! It is funny but I used to be quite creeped out by insects until I started photographing them. Now, well I can’t help but just wonder at their detail and complexity.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

