It’s the Butterfly Garden Again – August 3, 2015

I know, it was just a few weeks ago that I was sharing photos from the Butterfly Garden but since it was on my exercise route this past summer I tended to take a lot of pictures there.  As before, things haven’t changed; all bees, no butterflies except for a skipper.  With all the reading I’ve done I’m still not sure if a skipper is a butterfly or a moth.  Maybe it’s a buttermo or a mofly.  I’d go with the former as the latter sound like a type of fly.  But buttermo sounds like a drunk trying to say buttermilk.  It’s all too confusing.

A bumble bee on the prowl for a spot to land and go to work.

 

This looks like a good spot.

 

A daylily catching the sun just right.

 

In addition to the bumble bees there were honey bees at the Butterfly Garden.

 

 

Just another example of me taking a picture of a flower only to discover a bug on it when I first view the photo on my PC.  At first I thought it might be some sort of shield or stink bug but now I’m thinking it may be a leafhopper.  Whichever it is I’m sure it is distinctly one or the other, or even a third choice, but not mired in ambiguity like the skipper.

 

And of course, in lieu of a real butterfly in the Butterfly Garden, the skipper I mentioned.

 

Thank you for stopping by,

David

All photos take with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
12 thoughts on “It’s the Butterfly Garden Again – August 3, 2015

  1. Thank you Laura. I’m glad you liked the bee in flight, I just wish it had been a little better technically. I did delete including all the tags sometime ago which got me into the reader back then. Anyway, I do appreciate you stopping by and commenting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi David, nice shots! That definitely looks like a shield/stink bug.

    I always think of skippers as the third group, the “mixed bag,” though I think most people might tend to recognize them as little butterflies but because they are usually diurnal and often seen on flowers. In the end we’re (or “they’re” haha) all “Leps” and that’s what counts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

