Still More from Larson Park – July 25, 2015

This is my third and final set of photos taken at Larson Park toward the end of July last year.

This tree, and others all around it, were covered with these seeds.  The word that immediately came to mind when I saw it was fecundity.  I don’t think I have ever used that word in my whole life and yet, it popped into my mind.

 

I took this photo of a nearby tree where the concentration of seeds was not so abundant as the first.  I was going for the look of a triangle pattern but it didn’t turn out as well as I saw it in my mind.  What I did get was another instance of an insect showing up I hadn’t seen because my mind was focused on something different.

 

I have no idea what this is but it seemed like something that needed it’s picture taken.  I obliged.

 

In every crowd it seems there is on who just needs to stand out form the others.  Flamboyant is the word that came to mind for this photo.

 

I think this rose bud and its stem, while not so flamboyant, would stand out from the crowd if there was one.

 

Is it just me or does it look as though there is a tree hiding behind the bushes on the right and it is reaching out to tickle the tree in the middle?

 

It is said that the Druids, a religious class of Iron Age Celts in Britain, used to meet in groves of oak trees. In the late 1950s Disney released a movie, Johnny Tremain, about a teenage boy in Boston, MA just prior to the outbreak of the American Revolution. He was a member of a patriotic group (depending on your view of King George III) called the Sons of Liberty. In the movie this group would meet under a large tree called the Liberty Tree. Fast forward to today and there is a political group in the U.S. known as the Tea Party. I don’t know if they meet under a tree but, if they do, it would more than likely be this tree.

 

Thank you for stopping by and I’m always interested in your thoughts and comments.

All photos were taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
6 thoughts on “Still More from Larson Park – July 25, 2015

  1. I can hear the little pod in the third image shouting “over here, over here”. Or is it “overhear, overhear”? And I can see in the Tea Party tree the echo of some of the favorite art of Pompeii.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

