More from Larson Park – July 25, 2015

I had some photos of trees like this earlier this year but here are a couple of more pictures of one of my top three favorite trees – the bald cypress.

 

 

River oats.  I always like to photograph these.

 

I don’t know the type of flower in the next two photos but they are very photogenic.

 

 

Carpenter bee looking for a place to land.

 

Carpenter bee found a place to land and is busy going at it.

 

 

Thanks for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
15 thoughts on “More from Larson Park – July 25, 2015

    • Thanks Donna, good point on the foreground flower. I’m going to go back and see if I can get rid of or minimize it with a different crop. I like this photo too, mainly because of the detail and texture of the wings.

      Like

    • Thanks topcat. It is a nifty lens which is probably why use it so much. I realized that as much as I like it I need to use my other lenses more and get to the point I understand what I can do with them. I’ll have some shots taken with 80-400mm zoom to share in the not too distant future.

      Like

  1. My favorites are the bald cypress and the river oats, mostly because I don’t think we have either of these plants in Southern California. At least, I don’t recall seeing any.

    But I also like the plant pictures because they’re so feathery. I like feathery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you found some you like. I don’t know about river oats but I do know bald cypress are only in the Southeast and up the Mississippi River, at least as far as St. Louis. I like feathery also, but in moderation of course.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think there’s a kind of SoCal exceptionalism when I see a photo of a plant I’ve not seen before. Like, we can grow *anything* we want here, so how come I can’t have one of those??? (By the way, my cherry tomato is putting on a second round of fruit. Of course, I marvel that it’s doing all this in the middle of January. But then, I suppose California growers are producing lots of tomatoes about now. I’m really am horticulturally challenged.)

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

