Larson Park – July 25, 2016

Last year, toward the end of July, I took a trip to Larson Park which is about a 10 minute drive from my house.  Here are some photos from that visit.

 

This is some sort of milkweed plant, a favorite flower of monarch butterflies.  Despite a fairly large bed of the flowers, I didn’t see a single monarch.

 

I don’t know what flower the next two photos are but I always like to photograph them.

 

 

I’m still trying to get the “perfect” hibiscus photo with my 105mm macro lens where I have the whole length of the pistil in focus while shooting it 2/4 or better head on.  These next two photos are the closest I’ve come in a while.  I have a bunch of old shots from Florida where the whole pistil and flower were always in focus because it was a small camera with a very small 1/2.3″ sensor.  The depth of field on that camera was basically infinity.  I knew that the shorter the focal length of a lens and/or the smaller the aperture, the greater depth of field one can achieve.  I didn’t know until recently that the smaller the sensor size the greater the depth of field.  Evidently the reasons for all that can be explained by physics … uh, I’ll take their word for it.

 

This one come pretty close too and had a bonus feature.  As is often the case when I shoot flowers, I didn’t notice the little critter on this hibiscus until I viewed the photo on my PC monitor.  I’m pretty sure the insect is a transverse ladybird larva and I think ladybird is another name for ladybug.

 

Thanks for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
11 thoughts on “Larson Park – July 25, 2016

Comments are always welcome.

