On the Way Home from the Butterfly Garden

Last week I posted some pictures taken at the butterfly garden not too far from my house.  They were taken toward the end of July and here a just a few more photos taken on my way home from the garden.

 

I don’t know the name of this flower but I thought it was interesting enough for it to have it’s picture made.  It looks very similar to chicory to me but I thought chicory was only blue; a pale blue, the color you would dye an Easter egg.

 

I very rarely pass up an opportunity to photograph a rose.

 

I found the little guy shown below waiting for me at the front door when I got home.  I think 99.9% of the time I go in the back door so it was a real coincidence to see him.  He was actually under the doorway. Under the door sill there’s a row of bricks with their ends pointed out toward you with about six inched between them and the floor of the porch.  He was hanging unto one of the brick ends, upside down.

Have you ever been so intent on solving a problem or reaching a goal that you zone out, but not in a good way, instead in a dumb way.  I have … and I did this time.  I didn’t want a picture of him upside down so I turned my camera upside down and I had to lay on my stomach to get at his level.  With the camera upside down the controls were all backwards and it was very hard to operate the control wheels for aperture and shutter speed, not mention pressing the shutter button.  I was getting bad shot after bad shot.  I sat up for a minute to get a good look at what I had taken to see if I could salvage something with editing.  Then a little light bulb went off, and I gave myself an imaginary dope slap to the head as I realized I had experienced an ultimate “duh” moment.  Earth to David, “just take the stupid picture and then flip it in editing”.

So here’s the stupid picture that I flipped in editing.

There might be one or two of you who have read some of my very early posts and wonder if the above photo relates to this or maybe this.  The answer is no.  At least not as far as I know.

As always, thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos take with a Nikon D7100 with a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
8 thoughts on “On the Way Home from the Butterfly Garden

  1. Too funny!
    I had a very DUH activity myself recently.
    Last week I paid for & received the 2016 tags for one of my cars. I clutched my prize in my hand, prepared to immediately stick it on the license plate. I want out the back door, took one step down, and headed for the driveway. Except there were three more steps to be traversed. But the good news is that the trip to urgent care was not too expensive – about the same cost as my car tags.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

