A Different Something Different

In last week’s post I did something different compared to my usual posts.  Instead of close-ups of 4 to 6 flowers or insects with some comments, I had just one photo and a lengthy (at least for me) story.  Since I broke my usual pattern I’ve decided to temporarily keep it broken and again post something different.

This won’t be a one photo, long story something different but a different something different.  There are other photography genres I like in addition to macro photography.  One of my favorites that I view on line fairly often is street photography; however, I rarely, rarely, rarely ever attempt street photography.  I have all sorts of valid reason why I’ve rarely attempted it but they are all probably just rationalizations hiding the fact that I don’t know if I have an eye for it so I’m afraid to do it.  Also a large factor is that I’m a fairly private person and if I saw some stranger taking pictures of me I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t like it, and might even make my feelings known.

A couple of times I have tried street photography on a very limited bases; two or three shots when I was taking pictures of something else.  Very few escaped the Windows Recycle Bin and eventual destruction, but this past May I made a more concentrated attempt at street photography.  I was with my family experiencing the Cinco de Mayo celebration on Cherokee Street in south St. Louis.  In addition to the 150+ photos I took of family and some friends we encountered, I took a couple of dozen or so shots representing my first serious attempt at street photography.

I’ll admit that I don’t know the definition of street photography and I haven’t looked it up because, as I’m just now really trying to do it, I don’t want the experts telling me what it is and getting me boxed in to some parameters that I’ll feel I have to follow.  It may be that I like what I’m doing and it’s not really street photography – which would be just fine with me.  One thing I have done in an effort to be like traditional street photography is present the photos in black and white.  They were capture in color and then converted to greyscale in PaintShop Pro X6.  From there I tweaked them to try to bring out the whites and blacks.

I’ve chosen not to title the photos or provide a description, except for the first two.  I don’t want you to get boxed in either.  Make of them what you will.

 

Below are a some lucha libre masks.

 

Repurposed pot holders?

 

105mm

 

120mm

 

117mm

 

127mm

 

36mm

 

127mm

 

54mm

 

120mm

 

127mm

 

127mm

 

36mm

 

102mm

 

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed this different something different.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and, something else different for a change, a Nikkor 24-85mm lens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “A Different Something Different

  1. I don’t know, David, you may be selling yourself short, I thought those were very good! I’m curious, were those taken at varying focal lengths? Or mostly on the wide or long end? Street photography is something I find street photography quite intriguing myself, but my best lens for image quality is a 35mm and it’s hard to shoot people with it without getting in their faces.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Mike. The Nikon D7100 is an ASP-C sensor with a crop factor of 1.5. If I have the lens zoomed to 50mm the 35mm film camera and full frame DSLR would be 75mm. I’ve updated the post to show the 35mm equivalent field of view at the lower left of the photo. Most were shot in the 120mm range and all but three were shot at 105mm or higher. You bring up a good point that street photography for many people is probably much easier with a moderate zoom lens.

      Like

  2. I loved these. Every one is brilliant. Emotion. Movement, Energy. I also feel really torn about the whole street photography thing. I love the images people find but I know I would feel uncomfortable as a subject. And I am far too shy to ever go over to introduce myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for those nice comments Debra. I feel pretty much the same way you do but as I mentioned to Mike above the zoom lens does help some. Even then I still had to get closer than I was really comfortable with. Oh how we suffer for the sake of art! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Steve. I agree color is okay but this is one of two exceptions where I generally prefer black and white. The other exception being portraits; formal or informal. Ming Thein (http://blog.mingthein.com/ ) did a wonderful color series of street photography in Cuba within the past two years. But then I think anything he does is tremendous. Even on the subjects I don’t care for I can’t help admire and marvel at the degree of perfection he achieves with each photo.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the tip. I visited Ming’s blog. Nice stuff for sure. Admittedly I spent most of my time on the 2015 Xmas list. Sigh – for now I’ll just be happy with my 40 year old 1.4 50mm.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you topcat.. It does feel good but I have to admit shooting at a crowded street festival like this which attracts all sorts of interesting people makes for a very rich target environment. Maybe a little like shooting fish in a barrel. 🙂

      Like

  3. I enjoyed all of these, but most especially the old folks having a brewsky, and the girl taming the bucking bull. Good stuff! I say, keep it up (unless there’s a chance you’ll get beat up or shot by getting up in someone’s grill).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you MK. The girl taming the bucking bull is one of my favorites also. She was very small and I guessed she was no more than middle school aged. I saw her walking around the bull area before while someone else was riding and I could tell she was going to try it. She just loved every minute of the ride.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Maverick. I was really hesitant (i.e. afraid) to do this post but everyone has been so positive in their responses I’ll probably try it again when the opportunity presents itself.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

