Leaving Blackburn Park

Last week I posted a number of photos of bumble bees taken at Blackburn Park in mid-July.  Before heading home I checked out a small flower garden in the front yard of a house across the street from the park’s parking lot.  I found a few insects there.

 

Okay, it’s another bee but at least not another bumble bee which seemed to bee everywhere this summer.

 

I’m not positive but I don’t think this is a bee nor a wasp but a mimic of some sort.

 

Wow! It’s not a bee !  Finally something totally different.

 

When I got home from the park and pulled into the driveway I found a couple of common grackles (I think) in the bird bath.  I left the car running and took these two photos through the driver’s side window.  These were the first birds I’d seen in the bath since moving in, but then at this point we’d only lived here about 45 days.  As you can see by the water drops on the male (the little bright spots on him) and the ruffled breast feathers on the female, they really were bathing, not just drinking.

 

Here’s the male by himself.  That little drool under his “chin” kind of reminds me of my 11 month old grandson.  On the upper right side you might be able t make out some water spray from the female splashing away.

 

Another surprise was this female cardinal in the yard a few feet away from the bird bath.

 

Thanks for stopping buy.

David

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Leaving Blackburn Park

      • Compared to a mimic that is a fly (which are most common in my experience of mimics), the antennae are long and uniform; whereas a fly’s, even in the more unusual, “stalked” kinds exhibit sort of lobe-like segments at or near the ends. Typically anyway they are much shorter than bee or wasp antennae. It could actually be a good topic for a post, though I’ll have to dig through the archive to find some proper examples of what I’m talking about. (It would probably also do to look up some entomological anatomy terms, too; but let’s get not too ambitious here, slow down, me.)

        Like

        • Thanks. I thought I had figured out that one’s antennae are straight and the other had an almost right angle bend near the head similar to old school motor cycle handle bars. Then I started seeing that both had the bend, got confused, and gave up. When I have a flower or an insect and don’t know what it is I normally will do some research to see if I can figure it out, but if the info doesn’t come easy I stop because, while I’m interested in knowing the facts, I more interested in the photo. I haven’t been retired that long but I’m finding a pretty strong correlation between “time retired” and “desire to do anything that resembles what I used to be required to do”.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sounds like my process when I run into a computer problem, i.e. research until it’s not easy. Although I imagine much less teeth-gnashing and insanity ensues when the bug research comes to a head. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Nice ones! The grackles we have here are fastidious — they always seem to be bathing. Thank you for the comparison with your grandchild. That created such a sweet image in my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

