In the Yard – July 9, 2015

These photos were in a folder called: 2015-07-09 Yard. I only kind of remember taking them so putting this together is similar to viewing a post of mine for the first time. On this “outing” in my yard I didn’t take many pictures and they were pretty evenly divided between insects and flowers. I’ll show the flowers today and the insects next week.

All but one of the flower photos in this post are Shasta daisies. Following are four variations on the Shasta daisies.

 

 

 

 

That last daisy photo above is one of my favorite flower photos this year.  As soon as the raw file popped up for preview on my PC monitor I thought of the first stanza of the Dylan Thomas poem, Do No Go Gentle Into That Good Night.

“Do not go gentle into that good night,

Old age should burn and rave at close of day;

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

 

In case you would rather leave this post in a lighter frame of mind, here is a photo of some roses in all the pride and glory of a full bloom.

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos were taken with a Nikon D7100 DSLR and a Sigma 105mm macro lens
10 thoughts on “In the Yard – July 9, 2015

  1. I really like shasta daisies and I really the picture of the one that is drying up. I have a huge collection of dried up sunflower photos that I have never put up. I have always thought nobody would see what I liked in them so this was inspiring to me. I think flowers can be beautiful all through their life cycle. That said, the deep colours in the rose photo is pretty awesome!

    Like

  2. Great shots, David! I particularly like the first one and the withered one; actually the withered one stands out the most. There’s something about the stark light on the flower, the soft light in the back and the darkness of the left side.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mike. As I said in reply to Lyle, I feel so good when others see something in a photo that I like but was afraid others may not care for that much.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

