Blackburn Park July 6, 2015

Blackburn Park has always been my main go to spot for photographing flowers and insects, in large part because it was so close to me.  Before I moved, the entrance to the park was exactly one mile from my house.  I would often walk there after lunch or in the early afternoon.  Now it is about a two mile walk one way.  I try to take a two mile walk four or five mornings a week but not many insects are out in the morning so I can’t incorporate Blackburn in my walk.  What I do now is drive to the park or stop at the community rec center which is half way.  The reason I do the latter is because there are a couple of yards on the way home that have good flowers, and often insects, for photographing.  Walking by and photographing is no big deal but I would feel very awkward driving up to a house, parking the car, getting out of the car, walking around taking pictures, and then getting back in the car and taking off.

So here are shots from my July 6th visit to Blackburn Park.

Up first are two lilies. I noted it in a prior post that the stamens in some lilies remind me of ancient Egyptian priests exiting a pharaoh’s tomb. Same goes for these lilies, especially the white one.  I can’t get that image out of my mind now; must be the visual equivalent of getting a song stuck in your head.

 

 

Looks like someone was doing a “she loves me, she loves me not” test on this flower.  Why did they stop?  Did he or she get to the point where they saw the answer and didn’t want to continue, or didn’t need to continue?

 

Following are three variations on a cone flower.

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by and be sure to come back next week for the rest of the photos from this visit to Blackburn.  There will be two flower pictures I am especially fond of because they are so unique – at least to me.

David

All photos were taken with a Nikon D7100 DSLR and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
7 thoughts on “Blackburn Park July 6, 2015

Comments are always welcome.

