Finally a Couple of Insects

As promised in my last post, this post has the rest of the photos that I took in Larson Park at the end of June and I’m finally getting some insects. Well at least two. A moth and a bumble bee.

First some vegetation. Seeds on what I assume is some sort of ornamental grass.

 

This is the same type of grass seed as above but for those who may see things in a different light and who may lean a bit more to the left.

 

I think the next two flowers are the same type of yellow flower shown in my last post.  Donna from  Garden Walk Garden Talk and Nature and Wildlife Pics identified the photos on that post for me as brown-eyed Susans.

 

 

I used to have a small section of flowers similar to the the one below. Mine were called sombrero daisies and I started them from seeds 15+ years ago. I also had plain ones (no brown in the center) also started from seed at the same time and the package called them yellow daisies. After a few years the center of the sombrero daisies became very light, almost imperceptible.  My guess was that this was due to cross pollination as the two types of flowers were right next to each other.  This went on for about 5 years and then one summer the sombreros were back to their original color in the center.  I’ve no idea what caused these changes but there was a weird lady who lived up the street from me who had a garden gnome.  You never know.

 

Now some insects.  Here are three bumble bees, they may or may not be the same one, sucking on a sputnik flower.

 

 

 

This final photo is of an Ailanthus webworm moth.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos were taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.
8 thoughts on “Finally a Couple of Insects

Comments are always welcome.

