“… sit right down, baby let your hair hang down …”

I’ve noticed that quite a few homes around my neighborhood have bright, colorful, plastic, Adirondack styled chairs in their front yards.  I’ve seen more yards with the chairs than I’ve pictured here, but I had to stop somewhere.

The other option is to go out looking for them and document everyone that I find.  That’s the type of compulsive behavior I’m trying to avoid.  It’s took me several years to stop photographing every stupid street and parking light I saw … but clocks are still fair game.  Fortunately I don’t see that many of them.

So here are some of the bright, colorful, plastic, Adirondack styled chairs I see in front yards all around my neighborhood.

 

 

They always seem to be in pairs.

 

Oops!  I spoke too soon.

 

Okay, back to normal with just two chairs.

 

In the south city things are a little different.  Front yard space is minimal and all the cars parked on the streets obstruct the view from the yard.  Also pastel plastic is not in vogue.  Good old mid-century American made steel chairs and the balcony does the trick.  If you’ve ever owned one of these chairs or sat in one at your grandparents you know a summer thunderstorm isn’t going to blown this over into the neighbor’s yard.  This south city set up from it location to choice of chair  is purely a functional thing and not a fashion statement like in the suburbs.

 

 

Thanks for your second stop by this week.  Hope I didn’t throw you off schedule.

David

P.S.  In the three months I’ve lived here I’ve never seen anyone sitting in any of these chairs.

All photos taken with a Nikon D7100 camera and Sigma 105mm macro lens.  The title to this post is a partial lyric from the song Walk Right In. The Roof Top Singers had a #1 hit on the Billboard 100 in 1963 with their recording of the song. It was written by Gus Cannon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on ““… sit right down, baby let your hair hang down …”

  1. First: what?, have pink flamingos gone out of style?
    Second: The second pair above (with the wonderful pinkish door) looks like actual homemade wooden ones. I still have splinters from the last time I sat in one of those – which is what those big cushions are for.

    Like

  2. Don’t know if the pink flamingos have gone out of style but in my case they are just gone. Had two that we left at the old house. They were in a pretty inconspicuous spot in our side yard which was on a street that dead ended at the end of our property. I’d say 99.999% of the traffic on our front street never turned onto the side street so those people never got to see them. Obviously their loss. 🙂 Zoomed in on the full res photo of the white/cream colored chairs and you’re right, they are wood.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you enjoyed it. Yeah, I think the chairs are for display purposes only which for me tends to take away a lot of their appeal.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

