A Couple of Insects and Some Flowers

These photos were all taken at Larson Park. My insect photography has been really hurting this year. I’m not getting out very often (first because of the rains and now because of the heat/humidity: 90+ and 100+ feel like temps) and when I do get out I just can’t find anything except for bees. I mean I like bees and plants and flowers but I’d also like some variety.

This post has a couple of insects which sadly are all I have for now. Maybe when it’s cooler I can do some serious log and rock lifting and stick my camera deeper into the flower beds.

 

This is a ladybug, probably on the prowl for some aphids or spider mites.

 

These next three flowers caught my photographic fancy.  I’d tell you their name but I’ve no idea what it is. In the early 70s a band called America had a #1 Billboard hit with the song A Horse With No Name.  If there can be a #1 hit song referencing a horse with no name, surely we can enjoy a series of photos of flowers with no name.

As far as flowers go these may be more interesting looking than pretty.  To use a photographic simile, the subject here is about as pretty as a Diane Arbus subject.  It’s the form, texture, and backgrounds that I like in these photos.

 

 

 

These are called banana flowers. At least that’s what I’m going to call them.  How could anyone, including a bona fide botanist, call them anything else?  Well maybe musa sapientum fixa flos, but nothing else.  The macro lens makes them look larger than the actually are.  They are really quite small.

 

This is a hover fly on a banana flower. Not a lot of people know this but in addition to attracting insects these flowers are the favorite food of macro monkeys.

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos were taken with a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm macro lens.

 

8 thoughts on “A Couple of Insects and Some Flowers

  1. Yes the ladybug does seem to have its head down and going. With regard to the heat, they say it’s not the heat it’s the humidity, but damn, both have been too high.

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

