Mixing It Up

This post has a little bit of everything: flowers, a bush (or a tree?), a tree (for sure), a bug, and bees. Some of these photos were taken at Blackburn Park but most were taken at Larson Park. Let’s start with flowers.

What follows are two yellow flowers.

This is yellow flower No. 1.

 

This is yellow flower No. 2.  Until I started photographing them I never thought of flower petals as having texture.  I knew some petals were thick and rubbery and others looked paper thin but I never thought of them as being anything but smooth.

 

This is a purple smoke bush. It is sometimes refered to as a tree and I don’t know which is the more correct nomenclature. I’m pretty happy I got to use the word nomenclature for the first time since I was in the Army.

 

My top 3 favorite trees are the bald cypress, eucalyptus, and safras. That list is alphabetical and not in rank order becasue I can’t rank any one of the three above the other two. Generally I like all three equally but, on certain days, I may prefer one over the other. Two of the three are my favorites primaryily becasue I like the way they smell: the eucalyptus and sassafras trees. However, they do have additonal qualities such as the beautiful fall color of the sassafras leaves and the majesty of the eucalyptus tree tops covered in fog at the top of the Presideo of San Francisco, around the amo bunker,  just fifty yards from the edage of the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

This is a bald cypress tree. The bald cypress is a top three favorite becasue of it’s looks. To me the bald cypress is just a flat out pretty tree. And a grove of bald cypress … well, I think if these trees would have been on the British Isles in ancient times the druids would have been meeting there instead of under the oaks.

 

This is a seed cone from a bald cypress. I always thought seed cones were, uh, well, cone shaped. Evidently not.

 

This is a carpenter bee comming in for a landing. You can tell a carpenter bee from a bumble bee by the carpenter bee’s shiny, all black abdomen. Bumble bees look “hairer” and have horizontal black and yellow stripes around all parts of their body.

 

This is anothr carpenter bee comming in for a landing with another little critter coming in on the other side of the flower stalk.

 

I don’t know what kind of insect this is or where it’s headed but I’m not too thrilled with what it has left behind.

 

Thank you for stopping by and maybe all of us, as we go about today, might want to think about what we leave behind. I’m shootin’ for a smile on some faces.

David

All photos taken with Nikon D7100 and Sigma 105mm macro.

 

10 thoughts on “Mixing It Up

    • Thank you Maverick, I’m still trying to determine if the bee is a member of the carpenter’s union. These bees are not quite as social as honey bees so maybe not.

      Like

  1. Thank you Donna I agree. I have many photos of it (actually I photograph several that are around a garden in Blackburn Park) and most are from last fall. All have one compositional element in common: the sky is the background -always. I think the tree is too busy to have anything other than a plain background. One day I’m going to capture the perfect photo of i,t but it appears this is going to be a long quest because I’ve yet to come very close to what my mind sees.

    Like

  2. I really like the bee photos, I can never get that close with my reverse lens.

    Last shot, I’m guessing it’s a beetle, maybe a leaf beetle (family Chrysomelidae)? But that is really a stab in the dark.

    Like

    • Thanks Mike. I can imagine it’s pretty hard if not impossible to get bees in flight shots with the narrow dof of a reverse lens set up, but you do get some really fantastic super close-ups with that rig. Thanks for the possible id on the last shot.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

