Flowers II

I hope my title is not considered misleading.  Not all the photos are flowers, but the majority are flowers.  In fact, I did a quality control check and 77.777% of the photos in this post are flowers.  Of the 22.223% of the photos that are not flowers, 50% are plants that generate flowers.  For purposes of this analysis I have included the rosebud photo in the flower count.  You may not agree with that decision but I saw a red flower petal on one of the rosebuds so I counted it as a flower.  It was a judgment call; if you have a blog that incudes flowers I’ll understand if you exclude rosebuds from your flower count.  Most of the photos in this post were taken at Blackburn Park while one or two may have been taken while walking around the neighborhood.

Speaking of lamb’s ear, I had never really paid attention to lamb’s ear until last year when I was at Blackburn Park and I photographed some of the leaves with water on them and some with insects on them. I didn’t even know that they were a flowering plant until this May when I ran across them.

 

The flowers in the three photos below are from lamb’s ear – the plant; not the actual lamb, but you probably already knew that.  I doubt that this will mean much to you (but it’s a big deal for me), following are two photos in a row that are in the portrait layout.  I don’t like the portrait layout and rarely use it.  I’m just telling you this in case you want to make a print screen keepsake of this.  Who knows when (if ever) I’ll do something like this again.

 

This one makes me thing of The Cat in the Hat.

 

I just had to get one in landscape format in here.  It almost looks like a sugary confection topping a cake.

 

The above photos were taken in May and we had heavy, excessive rain throughout the month of June.  Unfortunately one of the lamb’s ear gardens at Blackburn was flooded which ruined the plants as shown in the photo below taken in mid-July.  There is a “twin” garden about 20 feet to the right of this that got hit too but not nearly as hard.  Drainage from the surrounding area into that garden was not as bad as this one.

 

Not sure when but someday I’ll probably get tired of taking pictures of rosebuds – just not there yet.

 

I don’t know what type of flower this is (what I do know is that I say that a lot).  This and the next photo highlight an interesting variance in the photos when natural light is used vs. flash.  This first photo was taken with available light.

 

This is a photo of the same flower above taken less than 60 seconds later but I used the built in flash on my camera (the complicated D7100).  Big difference in color.

 

Again I don’t know what this is but it’s photogenic in a weird science kind of way.

 

I find this next photo upsetting.  It may not bother you so much but I think something has to be said.  I know that sometimes the cranky old man in me comes out but really, what kind of world are we living in where people still leave their octopus outside in the garden to melt.  Especially the orange ones which we all know are the ones most susceptible to melting.  Really people?  Really?!

 

Thank you for stopping by.

David

All photos taken with Nikon D7100 and Sigma 105mm macro.
8 thoughts on “Flowers II

  1. You need to be careful with the garden octopus. Sometimes they just play dead, then jump up and grab people! Especially when they’re out of their favorite meat, lamb’s ear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Donna and I agree, steveo had a great comment. Wouldn’t it be fantastic if we could share the weather, redistributing the sunshine, rain warmth, and coolness where needed.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

