Monochrome Madness June 16, 2015 – The Durante Orchid

Below is the photo I contributed to the June 16 edition of Monochrome Madness and it probably marks the end of my participation in Monochrome Madness, at least for now.  It was always meant to be a temporary thing as explained here.  So, having participated in about a half dozen of these I have to say I still prefer color photography much more than black and white.  Not saying I don’t like B&W,  just prefer color.

Big Nose Orchid

 

One of the things I learned with participation in Monochrome Madness is that a type of photo that I thought would never work as black and white might just work after all.  I’m talking about sunset photos.  Below is sunset photo converted from color to B&W.  For me it’s not as appealing as the color version but still it seems to work which kind of surprises me.  This sunset was shot with my Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7; not the complicated D7100.

 

Thanks for stopping by and hopefully you’ll come again when I start my regular, color posts this week.  I don’t have much of an inventory yet, and rain has washed me out the past two days, but I’m getting there.

David

12 thoughts on “Monochrome Madness June 16, 2015 – The Durante Orchid

    • Thank you Donna. I guess complicated is relative. I’ve not seen the specs on the D4 but it is quite a bit more camera than the D7100 so I can see where it would be considered more complicated. My About page explains why I consider the D7100 complicated. Basically I’m comparing it’s complexity to my only other experience with a SLR, a Minolta SRT-101.

      Like

      • I will check that out. I have the D7000 and the D750 and think both were easy to use. The D4 is only more complicated in that it has many more options. A little to much money and too heavy for me, but I would love those 11fps.

        Like

  1. B&W is always something to play with. You don’t have to stray there. I once used B&W all the time, now it is just a temporary stop. You did good, stop back again.

    Like

    • Thanks Tom. It was interesting and a bit fun, but also lots of dead ends with photos that just didn’t convert well. I’ll probably try again sometime.

      Like

  2. I love what you did with this orchid. It does look like it has a big nose! And the sunset does work. I sometimes converta photo into b&w just to see what happens. Seeing an image without colour can clarify how important composition really is.

    Like

  3. Thanks Debra, the nose did kind of stick out without having to force yourself to see it. Good point on black and white helping to clarify the importance of composition.

    Like

    • Thank you very much. I won’t rule out participating in MM in the future but it may not be real soon. I still have a new Nikkor 80-400mm lens that I’ve barely used and I’m anxious to find some spots that would be advantageous for that lens. I do plan to try to remember keep my eye open for situations/subjects that might make for good black and white photos.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

