Busy, Monochrome Madness April 28, 2015 – The Moonrise Hotel

I have been very busy the past several weeks and will be even busier through the end of May. I haven’t taken any photos for a month (except for the few test photos for my new 80-400mm lens I shared here and family photos at Easter). It’s possible I won’t be taking any photo walks until the end of May.

What this means is that I will not have time to do my normal Wednesday blog. Rather than drop off the face of the earth, or at least the WordPress earth, I have an idea that hopefully will keep me posting as long as I have internet service.

I’m going to convert a number of my photos to black and white. By convert I don’t mean I am just going into the software and clicking on grayscale. I will spend time trying to bring out true whites and blacks and not just leave the photo with 255 shades of grey. As needed I will tweak contrast, curves, and local tone mapping on various photos to try to add some sort of feeling to the image, if that seems appropriate for the subject. Admittedly I prefer color to black and white so my efforts may not always be too successful but that’s even more reason to go through these exercises. Maybe I’ll learn what type of color photos or subjects make good black and white photos. Or I might learn I don’t have an eye for black and white and that’s why I prefer color.

I will be submitting these photos for inclusion in Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness blog posts on Tuesdays.  Below is my first entry for Monochrome Madness on April 28. I hope you enjoy these photos for the next several weeks and I can’t wait until I have the time to start shooting and going back to my “normal” posts. Having that big ol’ 80-400mm lens and not using it is driving me crazy.

 

The Moonrise Hotel

 

Thank you for visiting.

David

5 thoughts on “Busy, Monochrome Madness April 28, 2015 – The Moonrise Hotel

Comments are always welcome.

