All Aboard the Climatron

Okay, one doesn’t really board the Climatron; it’s a building on the grounds of the Missouri Botanical Garden. More specifically, it is a geodesic dome that encloses a greenhouse, but it does sound like some kind of steampunk contraption that could take you to strange places.  It was built in 1960 and the name Climatron refers to the building’s technology for controlling the climate.

The photos that follow are just a small sampling of what one can find in the Climatron. If I know the name of the item I use it, otherwise I just call it what I think makes sense.

Chihuly glass (isolated from a grouping of about six pieces). Why is this in the Climatron? I’m not sure but the garden has numerous small and large displays of Chihuly glass in various spots. I’m guessing they are left over (not accidentally and not without cost) from a garden exhibition in 2006 of glass works by artist Dale Chihuly. The visitors’ center, and main entrance to the garden, has a 2,300 pound chandelier that measures six feet across by over 20 feet long created by Chihuly for the exhibition.

 

A nice example of a yellow flower. If it were larger it might make a nice pilsner glass.

 

Fish mouth flowers.

 

Something orange with water drops.

 

One of the orange things similar to above but flowering.

 

Flowers with skinny, red velvet petals. This is a pretty remarkable specimen as velvet, especially the red variety, is very difficult to cultivate. Just one more reason Missourians are proud of the Climatron.

 

I have no idea what this is but I know what it looks like.

 

Red puff flower.  Yep, that’s the real name.

 

Red puff flower before bloom.

 

Red peace lily.

 

David

6 thoughts on “All Aboard the Climatron

  1. The Climatron looks like a very nice green space, in spite of its name. I went to the Chihuly museum in Seattle recently; very interesting and often beautiful work. Though I liked the indoor installations more than the stuff in the gardens. Generally speaking, I didn’t feel the glass enhanced the plants so much.

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by Michael. I agree with your thoughts on the glass. The chandelier is quite an impressive piece of art but items in the gardens do not really enhance the plants and flowers. My opinion is that the glass pieces are too different and basically are standalone items belonging in their own venue. I’m sure there are other visitors who think differently.

    Like

  3. I too was at the exhibit in Seattle recently. I don’t mind the art of glass in the garden. It is like any garden art, and is all in creative placement. Sometimes the art is the focus like in Seattle and plants take second seat. I enjoyed the place and think his work is masterful. Your photos are very nice too.

    Like

    • Thank you Donna. I’m not sure if I just don’t like mixing the glass with the plants and flowers or I don’t like the way it has been executed. When I say “I don’t like” its more of a “meh” than an actual dislike.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

