Monarchs, Unknown, and Roses

I am into my October photos now and wouldn’t you know it I still have two more photos of monarchs. I’ve looked ahead in my files and I promise these are the last monarch photos of 2014.

 

What I like about this monarch is his left wing with its saturated orange and contrasting thick black veins. I also like the texture of the wing.  It looks almost as if his left and right wings were made from two different materials.

 

This is my first planned shot of an insect. Normally I go up to a flower or bush, find a flower, leaf, or insect and start shooting from different angles. In this case the monarch had his back to me and was upside down, which wasn’t an interesting angle, but I saw he was circling around under the flower and would come out on top facing me so I set up to snap his picture as soon as he rounded the top.

 

I don’t know what this is. If I remember correctly, it was about the size of a ping pong ball or golf ball. It looks like it might be a small tomato but again, I really don’t know.  It wasn’t in a vegetable garden but in a garden that had flowers throughout the summer.

 

This is a red rose and it’s really not that interesting, but it’s the set up for the next picture.

 

This is the same red rose photo from above but with a closer crop and some post processing tweaks. A picture may be worth a 1,000 words but a photo does not necessarily represent reality.

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

David

3 thoughts on “Monarchs, Unknown, and Roses

    • I somehow managed to get a good number of monarch photos even thought the are hard (at least for me) to capture. I found them more skittish than the painted ladies and even the skippers. I have tons of photos for both of them. Of course the latter two are much more populace than the monarchs in the places where I photographed this season. I’m surprised by the few sightings you’ve had. I thought monarchs we common to pretty much in most of the U.S. Maybe your local area just doesn’t have the habitat for much of a population.

      Like

      • In previous years they had a much bigger presence, but they’ve suffered serious population decline recently, partly attributable to habitat loss. I have the milkweed (their primary host plant) waiting in the backyard for them when they bounce back (knock on wood).

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

