The End of The End of September Posts

In case your counting this is #005 in the series and, as the title suggests, this is the end of the September photos.

 

First up is a butterfly. I think this is a clouded sulphur. The edges of his wings are looking a little tattered but I guess not too bad for this late in the season.

 

This is a yellow jacket. I don’t really understand why they are called yellow jackets. The yellow part I get but there is nothing at all that suggests a jacket is being worn or that he is jacketed in yellow. Yellow striped or black striped wasp would make more sense. If those name are too boring then American tiger wasp probably wouldn’t be too much of a stretch.

 

This is a spotted cucumber beetle. I’m going to call him Wally. Wally’s friends asked him to climb up high to see if he can see where a rumored party is taking place.

 

“I see the lights, I see the party lights. They’re red and blue and green …”, said Wally.1

 

Wally is now hurrying down to lead his friends to the party. Who knew cucumber beetles were so social?

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

David

1 You may have had to be there to appreciate that piece of song lyric, and by there I mean 1962.

5 thoughts on “The End of The End of September Posts

  1. I hate to break it to you, David, but your yellow jacket is actually a paper wasp (semi-educated guess off the top of my head says maybe a European paper wasp). Also can’t help you with the etymology of “yellow jacket” but I can tell you it gets even better (well, “better”) when you find wasps like the bald-faced hornet, a white and black wasp…which is actually a type of yellow jacket.

    Like

    • Thanks for the info Michael. I was almost certain I had this right so I did a search to see how to tell the difference between a yellow jacket an a paper wasp. In terms of looks it appears the paper wasp has a more (for lack of a better term) “wasp like” abdomen even though a yellow jacket is a wasp. Probably the best help in distinguishing one from the other is that the paper wasp’s antennae are mostly orange except for a portion near the head. The yellow jacket’s antennae appear to be black the whole length.

      Like

      • Yes, I’d say paper wasps, generally speaking, are a bit more streamlined/slender/elongate. Yellowjackets do tend to have black antennae though there’s a pretty good bet for exceptions (in both groups).

        On a tangential note, if the paper wasp has a yellow face and antennae curled at the ends, it is a male. Which is good to know of course, because male wasps are incapable of stinging. (Well if one is concerned with such things , it is good to know.)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I don’t know anything about bugs, but I really like all the pictures. And I really really like the level of detail in the first one – the butterfly one.

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

