Then End of September #002

These pictures were all take September 30, 2014.  The butterfly pictures were taken in the Butterfly House at Faust Park in west St. Louis county. I took over 75 photos in the Conservatory where the butterflies are housed but did not get the name of any of them. There are a couple of web sites designed to help one identify insects and butterflies, but for all the time I put into using those tools I’m seldom comfortable with the results or can’t find anything really similar to what I have.

Last weekend I went through all those butterfly photos again and deleted all but a few. I deleted everything that I couldn’t name, or was just not that interesting. All that I kept were two photos of an owl butterfly and six photos of a rice paper butterfly.

 

This is an owl butterfly. The pose is not too interesting. I kept it mainly because the wing has an almost puffy 3D look..

 

This is a rice paper butterfly. If I were going to write a story about butterflies and their warrior princess, this would be the illustration for her.

 

I found this stink bug on one of the white pavilion buildings in Blackburn Park. The stinkbug was on the right side of a doorway. Not much of a photo but evidence, I think, that Mother Nature likes to have fun every now and then.

 

This is what was on the left side of the doorway, directly opposite the sting bug. Coincidence? I think not.

 

This is a tight, square crop of a photo I’ve shared before. It was taken on September 30th with all the others in this post. I’m sharing it again because I ran across it in my September 30 folder and it is one of my favorite photos. Looking at it often reminds me of something Art Deco. On other days it reminds me of the front end of a 1937 Packard.  Either way I just like it.

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

David

6 thoughts on “Then End of September #002

  1. The sheen on that first pictue is amazing. Bug faces are so cool. It is harder to think of them as anonymous pests knowing they have FACES. Very cool shot.

    Like

    • I’m waiting to get a movie or TV deal first. Since I came up with the characters and you developed the story line, I guess we’ll need to go 50/50 on it.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

