The End of September #001

Here it is almost the end of December and I still have “inventory” for new posts.  I’m not sure how much longer the inventory will last.  If I can get into March I may be okay as there should be some good days for outdoor shooting.  If I run out in February, well, you’re liable to see me try to get creative with still lifes of salt and pepper shakers or something equally fascinating.

The photos in today’s post were all taken on September 29th at the Missouri Botanical Garden. We had a lot of really nice days the last two weeks of September with temperatures in the 80s (F).  As I write this we are about a week into winter in the northern hemisphere and, as I knew I would, I’m missing those warm September days.

 

The prime, healthy flowers tend to get crowded toward the end of the season. This is one of the plastic looking flowers at the Missouri Botanical Garden.

 

Probably my favorite grass seed photo.

 

Honey bee on a Sputnik flower. I don’t want to mislead anyone so I guess I should tell you that Sputnik may or may not be the true name of this flower.

 

The next three photos are all of end of season flowers. I don’t know the names of the flowers.

 

Okay, I know the name of this one – rose.

 

I think I have this one too – water lily.

 

The insect below is a dragonfly – I looked it up.

 

Rare photo showing Han Solo’s Millennium Falcon (right side of photo) attacking the Death Star. Also note the radiation induced, colossally mutated honey bee that thinks the Death Star is a Sputnik  flower.

 

I will be celebrating New Year’s Eve this Wednesday. The next day I will be going through various stages of recovery. Mainly I’ll be recovering from staying up past 10:00 PM. This means I will not have my normally scheduled post for Thursday morning. I will be back at it with a post ready for Monday morning, January 5, 2015.

Until then, Happy New Year everyone!

David

 

8 thoughts on “The End of September #001

Comments are always welcome.

