Blackburn Park – Insect Potpourri

We spent 3 days at Tower Grove Park (figuratively speaking) and we are now at what was my main stomping ground this past July through October; Blackburn Park. The Tower Grove photos were taken September 17 and this visit to Blackburn was the next day.

Is it possible for one to have too many butterfly photos. This not was a rhetorical question and the answer is yes. But there I was September 18, after a summer full of butterflies, still taking pictures of them. At least this is when I captured my favorite skipper photo shown at the bottom of this post:  Skippers

 

Below is just in case you haven’t gotten your fill of monarch photos. The internet is full of how-to information for photography.  I didn’t start trying to photograph butterflies until this summer but I remembered a how-to article I had read about a year ago.  Actually I don’t remember the article, just one of the bits-o-wisdom.  The reader was told the best way to photograph a butterfly or a moth was from the back with its wings wide open or from the side with the wings in the vertical position.  That way you can get a good view of the wings’ markings and color.  To me that’s a bunch of bohunkus.  Maybe that’s okay if your photo is going into a textbook or article to document what a particular butterfly looks like but it’s not going to produce a very interesting photo.  (Unless of course the markings show a picture of Our Lady of Guadalupe when the wings are held at a 45 degree angle to a light source.)

 

My photos above and below follow the how-to rule.  The photos are nice but leave a kind of so what impression.  The photo below may be a little better than most open wing photos because of the butterfly’s stance.  Most open wing photos have the head orientated at 12:00 o’clock and the end of the body at 6:00 o’clock.  In this photo the butterfly is facing down and at an angle which adds just a little bit more drama, or tension, or implied action.  Is it looking at something? Is it getting ready to take off?

 

This is more of my idea of how a photo of a moth or butterfly should look.  Get down on its level and get in its face.  We like pictures of faces.  We want to look into the eyes of other people and creatures.  I think that I just human instinct.

The two photos above are painted lady butterflies.

 

This is another photo of the grass seeds that I like so much. Debra who writes the Under the Pecan Leaves blog identified them for me as Chasmanthium latifolium. I looked this up and one of the common names is river oats. River oats is easier to say (not to mention spell) than the other name so I use it.

 

These are small milkweed bug nymphs. I guess they are all just hanging around together waiting to grow up to be small milkweed bugs. If you read my post were I first showed photos of small milkweed bugs, and you are able to retain pertinent information, then you know they will not grow up to be large milkweed bugs.  Large milkweed bugs are a different species, or at least no closer than cousins. If you did read the post but did not retain the pertinent information that is quite all right.  I know I tend to remember useless information better than pertinent information.

 

See that little red thing almost in the center. Above it is an even smaller little brown thing. I have no idea of what that brown thing is. I tried zooming in to count the legs to see if it is a spider, but I think it just has six legs. Anyway the little red thing is a small milkweed bug nymph. It is so much smaller than the other nymphs I am going to call it a small milkweed bug nymph nymphette. I don’t think the entomologists will mind.

 

I’m not positive but this may be my last honey bee photo of the 2014 season.  I don’t remember that flower but the color goes nice with the bee.

 

It’s my understanding that these damselflies are not mating, but may be heading in that direction.

 

With the possible exception of most butterflies and some moths, I don’t think insects are in any way what one could call pretty.  I think that macro photography of insects helps make that point.  Still I find their looks very, very interesting.

 

And this is probably the source of the expression bug-eyed.

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

David

 

 

5 thoughts on “Blackburn Park – Insect Potpourri

  1. I think the insects are pretty. Maybe a bit more interesting. I find the colors and shapes so different than other creatures. Imagine if they were our size? I guess I would not think them as pretty! I agree, getting down to insect level makes a more compelling image. I like the softer backgrounds too. Nice set of photos. It is also nice you were still seeing them. Here, they are eggs, dead or safely tucked away for winter.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comments.

      I think that if the insects were our size not only would they not be pretty but, to me at least, they would be very scary. Similar to the creature in the movie Predator.

      Today is cloudy and dark with temps in the mid 30s and it has been that way more often than not the past couple of weeks so our insect population is pretty much in the same state as yours. The first day of winter is next Sunday which means that spring is just that much closer.

      Like

  2. Really nice pictures. I especially like your Bees.For me a decent Bee picture or set has got to include nice eye shots and they have always got their faces stuck in a flower, Nice captures.

    Like

  3. Thank you for commenting Colin. I see you’re catching up on some reading. If you haven’t seen my bee photos in my gallery at: http://dpbstl.weebly.com/
    you might want to check them out to see how many meet your criteria, I doubt that any of the Bees in Flight photos do.

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

