Tower Grove Park – The Rest of the Stuff

My last two post have featured photos taken in St. Louis’ Tower Grove Park. In case you skipped over the title, so does this one. We’ll be leaving the park after this post and head back over to Blackburn Park. It will be Sunday night or Monday morning before we get there, so if you need to go to the restroom, now is the time.  It’s okay. I’ll wait.

 

La-di-da-da-da,

La-di-da-da-di,

La-di-da-da-do.

 

 

Alright, everyone back?  Let’s finish up here at Tower Grove.

This is the fountain in Tower Grove Park.

Henry Shaw and his horticulturist drew up the plans for the fountain. It is made up of limestone blocks from the old Lindell Hotel. The blocks are stacked to look like ancient and picturesque ruins, a popular style for parks of the time. This coincides with the rise of the European grand tour and some of the romantic poetry of Byron, Keats, and Shelley.  For me it just reinforces the axiom about one man’s junk, another’s treasure.

 

This is not my favorite grass seed photo but I do like the green and cream stalk on the left. Also, but not having anything to do with this photo, “green and cream” is fun to say; at least in my mind. I don’t know about out loud.

 

Recognize this? If you said yes you get bonus points added to your permanent record for paying attention. If you can identify the name of the plant you get my thanks. Based on the file name I gave it two months ago, I identified it as “Plant Colorful”.  I feel like I might have nailed it but I don’t pretend to know everything.

 

Other than the purple, I’m not sure why, but these two photos remind me of Mardi Gras decorations.

 

Take this you black and white purist.

 

I don’t know jack about birds including this sparrow.

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

David

5 thoughts on “Tower Grove Park – The Rest of the Stuff

    • Yes, it worked out pretty good and I’ll definitely head back in the spring. With all the water there should be some good dragonfly or damselfly opportunities in the summer.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

