Skippers: Puppy Dogs of the Insect World

Skippers, along with butterflies and months belong to the order Lepidoptera. A skipper is not a butterfly and not a moth. Like butterflies (superfamily Papilionoidea) and months (superfamily Hedyloidea), skippers belong to their own superfamily, Hesperioidea. There are over 3,500 species of skippers. (Info from the Butterfly and Skipper entries in Wikipedia.)  What Wikipedia doesn’t say is that like bunny rabbits and puppy dogs, skippers are cute.

I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say that I took about 200 photos of skippers during the months of August and September. They were everywhere and, because of their small size, they provided great practice trying to fill the frame with the subject; something I still need to practice.  Because there are over 3,500 species and because I took so many photos I gave up trying to identify the ones I photographed. However there is one photo I have that I think is a silver-spotted skipper and I’ve noted that.

This post has about twice as many photos as I usually post so to help you get immersed in the world of skippers I’ve kept my comments to a minimum.  I hope you enjoy the skippers.

 

 

silver-spotted skipper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was my last photo of a skipper this season and coincidentally it is my favorite.

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.  I hope everyone has a very happy Thanksgiving day and if you don’t celebrate Thanksgiving, then I hope you have (or had) a very happy fourth Thursday of November.

David

You can view my gallery at: http://dpbstl.weebly.com/

2 thoughts on “Skippers: Puppy Dogs of the Insect World

Comments are always welcome.

