What the Heck is That?

That would have been my question if I’d seen the subject of these photos a month earlier. For the first 2 or 3 seconds hummingbird flashed through my brain but then, almost instantly, I knew what it was. As if to prepare me for my August 29th adventure in Blackburn Park, the August issue of the Missouri Conservationist (which I received in July) had a letter from a reader with a picture of this thing asking what it was.

The magazine responded that it was a hummingbird clearwing month. It noted that there are several species of sphinx or hawk moths and that Missouri has many sphinx moths species. Some species. like the clearwing moth feed during the day and others at night.

The funny thing is that I remember after seeing the, picture and reading the question and answer, I thought:  “why can’t I ever get lucky and find a subject like that?”

 

 

 

Obviously the hummingbird clearwing month gets its name from its looks.  Personally though, if I were naming it, I’d call it the flying crayfish.

 

 

I wanted to go back to Blackburn Park the next day to try to get more shots but couldn’t.  I’ve been back many times since these photos were taken but never saw it again.  Believe me I did look.  About 60 days later on my last trip of the season to the Missouri Botanical Garden I got three of four photos of a hummingbird – my first ever of a humming bird.  To my surprise in this same garden I saw a small hummingbird clearwing month and managed to get a few photos of it.

I might have mentioned in a previous post that recently I accidently deleted some photos on my SD card and formatted the card before realizing what I had done.  The hummingbird and the clearwing moth photos were on that card.  When I realized what I had done I was sad.  I cried like I did when they shot Old Yeller.  Well … at least I have something to shoot for next season.  As always, pun intended.

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

David

You can view my gallery at: http://dpbstl.weebly.com/

7 thoughts on “What the Heck is That?

  1. hahahaha The first time I read about clearwings I had the same reaction: how come I never see cool things like that? (But I said it with a bit of a whine). And then I did see one this summer and I was so excited I fumbled the shot. These are so beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comments. I’m finding that the more I go out and take pictures, even when I’ve nothing particular in mind to shoot, (or maybe especially then) the less I have to whine about. I know, that’s kind of a duh observation but I need to remind myself every now and then.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

