Missouri Botanical Garden August 22 & 23, 2014

My last post left off with a number of photos from an August 22rd trip to the Missouri Botanical Garden. The following three photos were also taken that day.

Water lily with dragonfly #1.

 

Water lily with dragonfly #2.

 

Water lily with dragonfly #3. Sometimes coming up with a name or title for a photo can be difficult.  At other times … not so much.

 

The 22nd turned out to be a good photo session so I went back the next day for more.

Remember the plastic looking flower buds in my last post. Here is one of the flowers in bloom. From behind it still looks plastic. I think I’ll have a head on view in a future post. That nicely patterned insect on it is an Ailanthus webworm month. I looked it up on Wikipedia and while I do like to learn new things there was just too much information to hold my attention. Plus, I’m at that age where my brain is pretty full. In order to retain any new information it seems I have to overwrite some of the existing information. I don’t mind getting rid of some stuff, in fact there is some useless stuff I really should get rid of. Problem is I don’t get to choose what  stays and what goes.  What was I saying?  Oh yeah, went back the next day for more photos.

 

The next three photos are of a bumblebee. They are a few of my favorite bee photos (favorites are always subject to change) because of the detail and texture in the wings and head.

 

 

Another thing I like about these bee photos (especially this one below) is that because of the large size of the bee, you can actually see the bee’s knees.

 

More from the Missouri Botanical Garden in my next post.

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog, or at least looking at the pictures.

David

You can view my gallery at: http://dpbstl.weebly.com/

2 thoughts on “Missouri Botanical Garden August 22 & 23, 2014

  1. These are amazing photos! At first I thought I’d comment on the colour — so painterly and then I saw the bee! Wow. I tried the other day to capture a bumble bee so I know how difficult (read nearly impossible) that can be sometimes. These are amazing!

    Like

  2. Thank you very much for your nice comment. Bees can sometimes be difficult but really all it takes is patience and perseverance. People probably think I’m a little off when they see me wandering around a bush or flowers standing bent forward then stooping then standing and bending and stooping again. The strange looks I get aren’t quite so bad when I do that with my camera in hand.

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

